Hawaii Beat

Sakamoto, Hunt are first in Rough Water Swim

Noa Sakamoto negotiated the 2.4-mile Waikiki Rough Water Swim course in 49 minutes, 26 seconds to win the annual event yesterday. Alex Kostich was second in 50:49.

Cassie Hunt finished first in the women's division with a time of 56:37, 20 seconds ahead of runner-up Jessica Affleck. Hunt is a freshman on the University of Hawaii women's swim team, while Affleck is a junior.

Lyau, Kusutani win race at Kalaeloa

Jonathan Lyau won the Michelob Ultra-Kalaeloa 20-kilometer race yesterday at Kalaeloa with a time of 1 hour, 15 minutes, 9 seconds. He finished 39 seconds ahead of runner-up Jimmy Davis.

Sayuri Kusutani topped the women's division in a time of 1:17:18. Jeannie Wokash was second in 1:21:59.

See line scores and results
in the [ Scoreboard ] section.



E-mail to Sports Editor


Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]
© 2004 Honolulu Star-Bulletin -- https://archives.starbulletin.com