Hawaii Beat

Star-Bulletin Staff

Seasiders fall in regional rematch

No. 1 Brigham Young-Hawaii opened defense of its national title in volleyball with a 30-28, 30-24, 30-26 sweep at the hands of No. 3 Cal State San Bernardino at the Coyote Classic in San Bernardino, Calif., last night.

The Coyotes, who lost to the Seasiders in last year's regional final, held the Seasiders to .090 hitting. Chun Yi Lin, Yu Chuan Weng and Mariah Goselin each had 11 kills for the Seasiders, who swept Cal State Bakersfield 32-30, 32-30, 30-26 before losing to the Coyotes.

Morgan a winner: New Hawaii-Hilo coach Julie Morgan won her first match at Hilo, leading the Vulcans to a 23-30, 30-24, 30-25, 31-29 win over Northwest Nazarene at the Hawaiian Style Classic in Hilo last night. Tiffanie Ollison posted a team-high 20 kills.

Sea Warriors start strong: No. 22 Hawaii Pacific wasted no time getting into the season, beating Seattle 3-1 and No. 16 Northern Colorado 3-2 in the Hawaiian Style Classic last night. Flavia Brakling had a pair of double-doubles in her debut for the Sea Warriors, while setter Vera Oliveira handed out 93 assists in the two games.

Chaminade splits: Valasi Sepulona found the floor 19 times and new setter Michelle Norman dished out 48 assists as Chaminade beat Cal Poly Pomona 30-26, 30-21, 24-30, 18-30, 15-13 last night in the Cal Poly Pomona Invitational at Pomona, Calif. The win took some of the sting out of the Silverswords' first loss of the season earlier in the day, 18-30, 30-27, 30-23, 35-33 to Findlay, Ohio.

2 Waianae boxers advance to semis

Waianae's Kawika Tangjian and Boston Salmon each scored 3-0 unanimous decisions to advance to the semifinals of the 2003 National Labor Day Boxing Tournament in Kansas City, Mo.

Tangjian, competing in the 13- to 14-year-old 95-pound division, defeated Gilbert Clark of Grand Rapids, Mich., in the second round while Salmon, competing in the 11- to 12-year-old 85-pound division, defeated Adam Adrian of Clio, Mich. Both fighters are coached by Bruce Kawano of the Evolution Boxing Club.

15 to be inducted into Hall of Fame

The Hawaii Swimming Hall of Fame will honor its 15 new inductees at the Elk's Club on Nov. 15. No-host cocktails begin at 5:30 p.m., followed by dinner and a program.

This year's inductees include six Olympians, National Masters Swimming champions, open-water swimming champions, a diving coach and an NCAA Woman of the Year for the State of Hawaii award recipient. Honored will be: Brent Berk, George Onekea, Yoshi Oyakawa and Sonny Tanabe (swimming); Christopher Duplanty and Dr. Heidi McElhaney (water polo); Wallace Nakamoto (coach); Charlotte Costello, Dr. Pete Okumoto, Joan Osborne and Peter Powlison (masters swimming); and Morris "Mo" Mathews, Diane Stowell, Fred Trask and Jim Welch (ocean swimming).

See line scores and results
in the [ Scoreboard ] section.


E-mail to Sports Editor


Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]
© 2003 Honolulu Star-Bulletin --