Advertisement - Click to support our sponsors.

Monday, May 8, 2000

Taking Notice

Scholastic honors

Bullet Lori Lei Hokyo, a 1995 Punahou School graduate, was given a full scholarship, annual stipend of $10,000 and health benefits by the University of Minnesota's graduate program in creative writing.

Bullet Kim Adachi, a 1995 Moanalua High School graduate, received a $23,000 Rotary Ambassadorial Scholarship for a year of study at Melbourne University in Australia.

Bullet Matthew Bow of Punahou School will compete as a finalist in the Music Teachers National Association Foundation High School String Competition. He became one of seven national finalists after winning the Southwest Division of the competition.

Bullet Drs. Cathy Keheau'ilani Bell and David Wolkoff from the John A. Burns School of Medicine were awarded the Sol Ginsberg Fellowship from the Group for the Advancement of Psychiatry; and Drs. Anthony Guerrero and Megan Marumoto, also from the John A. Burns School of Medicine, received the American College of Psychiatrists' Laughlin Fellowship.

Bullet Winners of the Ninth Annual U.S. Savings Bonds Poster Contest are: Lore-an Alob, a sixth-grader at King David Kalakaua Middle School, first place; Anthony Du, a sixth-grader at Stevenson Middle School, second place; and Chelsey Kaneshiro, also a sixth-grader at Stevenson Middle School, third place. Alob will continue as a finalist in the national competition.

Bullet Stephanie Mei Yun Cheng, a senior at Moanalua High School, was selected as a national finalist in the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation's competition for cash scholarship.

Bullet Kimberly Gress, a senior at Kalaheo High School, was among 28 students nationwide who were chosen to participate in a history workshop at Lawrence University.


Bullet Dr. Joseph W.C. Young received the Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Washington University (St. Louis) Dental Alumni Association.

Bullet Steve Higa, president of Mortgages Etc., was named the 1999 Mortgage Broker of the Year by the Hawaii Association of Mortgage Brokers.

Bullet Kit Man Ho, a seventh-grader at Stevenson Middle School, won the state division of the District 50 Hawaii Lions Clubs' annual International Peace Poster Contest. She will be competing as a finalist for $2,500 and an all-expenses-paid trip for three to the Lions' International Convention.

Bullet The following Boy Scouts from Troop 35, chartered by Noelani Elementary School, have made Eagle Scout: Brent Kakesako of Iolani School, son of Mr. and Mrs. Gregg Kakesako; Lance Yoshihara of Punahou School, son of Mr. and Mrs. Steve Yoshihara; and Jonathan Uto of Punahou School, son of Dr. and Mrs. Lloyd Uto. Other Eagle Scouts are: Teruo Nagasako of Unit 9, chartered by the Moanalua Valley Community Association, son of Rodney S. and Deborah F. Nagasako; Chadwick C.S. Wong of Unit 49, chartered by Honpa Hongwanji Hawaii Betsuin, son of Albert and Liane Wong; and Isaac Keola Yamamoto of Post 47, chartered by LDS Kohala Ward, son of Wesley and Tarne Yamamoto.

E-mail to City Desk

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]

© 2000 Honolulu Star-Bulletin