Advertisement - Click to support our sponsors.

Hawaii Beat

By Star-Bulletin Staff

Thursday, May 11, 2000

Nine Rainbows on
WAC academic team

Nine University of Hawaii student-athletes have been named to the WAC All-Academic basketball and swimming and diving teams.

Wahine basketball players Maj Forsberg, Raylene Howard, Kylie Galloway, Aina Kohler and Kate McMeekin-Ruscoe made the All-WAC team.

Joshua Gonzalez and Anders Jonsson made it for the men's swimming and diving team, and Sanja DuPlessis and Jamie Dvorak from the Wahine squad.

An athlete must have a 3.2 GPA to qualify for the honor.

Moms and dads race free

Moms and dads will have a chance to race free at the new Box Car Track in Pearl City.

Moms are free Sunday, on Mother's Day, and dads get their chance on Father's Day, June 18.

Normal admission is $6 per person for up to four hours.

For more information, call 947-3393.

UH sails to fourth place

The 16th-ranked University of Hawaii coed sailing team placed fourth last weekend in the Pacific Coast Dinghy Championships at Santa Barbara.

Top-ranked USC won the regatta and No. 3 Stanford finished second. Both teams advance to the ICYRA National Dinghy Championships in June.

Brent Harrill and Emi Tottori earned 43 points for UH in the A division, with a pair of first place finishes and one second place.

Lee, Dorothy make cut

Honolulu's Dean Dorothy and Regan Lee were among the 151 golfers surviving yesterday's 54-hole cut in the Canadian Tour's Qualifying School in Kamloops, B.C.

Dorothy, who plays out of the Kapolei Golf Course, was in 81st place with a 222 total after a 71 yesterday, while Lee shot a 76-226 for 133rd place.

Hawaii's Johnny Rieger (153), Jay Shannon (154), Neil Simms (155), Beau Yokomoto (156), Jeff Ferry (157) and Ivan Cunningham (165) missed Tuesday's 36-hole cut of 152.

The final cut to 55 and ties will be made after today's fourth round with the low 30 after tomorrow's final round earning cards to play on the 2000 Canadian Tour.

Four winners at speedway

Stoney Joseph, Jimmy Pontin, Derek Durbin and Brandon Temora were the winners in four Mother's Day Celebration auto races at the Hawaii Motor Speedway last weekend.

See line scores and results in
the [Scoreboard] section.

E-mail to Sports Editor

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]

© 2000 Honolulu Star-Bulletin