Tuesday, January 19, 1999

By Kathryn Bender, Star-Bulletin
Winston Aikapa Tyau, one of the Ha Hawaii delegates,
waves to motorists along Auwaiolimu in Papakolea Sunday
in the hope that they will vote for him. Results from
the election are expected Jan. 27.

Summit planned to
determine Hawaii's course

By Lori Tighe


A second summit to determine the course of Hawaiian self-determination will take place March 20-21, announced Kina'u Boyd Kamali'i, chairwoman of Hoomalu Ma Kualoa.

The Kupono Coalition called the meeting to come up with a strategy and a two-year time line to discuss what kind of government Hawaiians want. That was the group's response to the boycotted Hawaiian vote Sunday for 85 delegates at a Hawaiian convention.

"We want to educate everyone on the seriousness of the self-determination issues," Kamalii said. "We want to do fund-raisers and white papers so we will definitely know what government we want. Most people don't understand government and how it's run."

Anyone Hawaiian will be invited, particularly ohana groups, and many in the Kupono Coalition, Kamali'i said.

They will discuss whether to have their own convention, she said. The primary goal of future action will be to educate Hawaiians about their options and how they will affect everyone.

"We're very serious about getting our land back. If you don't have land, you have nothing but a paper nation," Kamali'i said.

Representatives of Ha Hawaii could not be reached for comment.

Voter turnout, which appeared light, will be tabulated Jan. 26.

Some Hawaiians criticized the Ha Hawaii vote process for being tied to the state.

Office of Hawaiian Affairs, which didn't take sides on the Hawaiian convention issue, has also begun to get involved.

Trustee Mililani Trask, chairwoman of OHA's sovereignty committee, told the several hundred people attending Sovereignty Sunday at Iolani Palace that she will form an advisory committee to assist hers. Under OHA rules, the advisory committee can have only five members and one must be a trustee, said Trask, also chairwoman of Ka Lahui.

The other four positions will go to representatives of "the four groups fighting the most" on the sovereignty issue, she said.

Included will be Ka Lahui, Ha Hawaii, the Kupono Coalition and a representative of independence advocates.

"We want to provide an opportunity to make a good faith effort, using OHA resources, to facilitate consensus building," Trask said.

"We cannot move until we get consensus."

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

E-mail to City Desk

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]
[Stylebook] [Feedback]

© 1999 Honolulu Star-Bulletin