TheBuzz: Marketers and the agency that loves them


POSTED: Friday, April 03, 2009

One very large happy business family will luxuriate in success at Tuesday's Marketer of the Year luncheon at the Hawaii Convention Center, staged by the American Marketing Association Hawaii Chapter.

The winners are Royal Hawaiian Center, 2008 Marketer of the Year; Hawaii Public Radio, for Best Nonprofit Marketing; Marriott Hawaii, for best E-Marketing; and Hawaii Superferry for Best Marketing of a New Product or Service.

Three of AMA Hawaii's four winners were represented by the Anthology Marketing Group Inc. family of companies.

“;We benefit from the terrific collaboration we enjoy with the smart marketers on the client side who provide excellent leadership and clear direction,”; said Chairman David McNeil.

“;It's very satisfying for us, especially because all of our four divisions are involved in supporting these clients,”; including McNeil Wilson Communications Inc. for public relations, Laird Christianson Advertising Inc., StarrTech for online marketing and QMark for research.

QMark has done pro-bono work for Hawaii Public Radio, but Anthology does not represent the organization. Nevertheless, “;we are a ... sponsor of HPR and are delighted to see them do well,”; McNeil said.

Recent court rulings have Hawaii Superferry not doing well, or operating at all.

Though some of AMA Hawaii's previous 31 Marketers of the Year are no longer in business, honoring a business that went out of business so shortly after being selected as a winner is “;a unique situation,”; said Keith DeMello, communications coordinator for AMA Hawaii as well as vice president of public affairs at McNeil Wilson.

AMA Hawaii “;could not help but stand by its decision to recognize”; Hawaii Superferry, he said.

Hawaii Superferry “;demonstrated superior marketing that fully integrated traditional and innovative tactics to brand its identity among its customer base,”; said AMA Hawaii President Paul Dyson in a statement.

“;The company not only had to market a new product, it had to introduce a totally new way of thinking about interisland travel.”;

Companies may be nominated by anyone, regardless of AMA membership and the call for entries is typically made in December.

Companies also may win more than once, as have Bank of Hawaii, McDonald's of Hawaii, Outrigger Hotels, Aloha Airlines and American Savings Bank.

The luncheon begins at 11:30 a.m. Tuesday and costs $80 per person or $750 for a table of 10. Reservations can be made online.


Erika Engle is a reporter with the Star-Bulletin. Reach her by e-mail at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).