Shining Stars


POSTED: Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Make-a-Wish names its directors

Make-a-Wish Foundation of Hawaii announced its board of directors for 2009-2010: Officers are Ryan K. Sakaguchi, president; Brandt G. Farias, vice president; Lori L. Lee, secretary; and Tracey A. Keahi, treasurer. Directors are Robert Q. Bruhl, Carolyn Tom Davis, Michael P. Loo, Michele Sunahara Loudermilk, Alan R. Mattson, Joseph S. Pina and Lee Tokuhara. Henry Kapono continues to serve as Make-a-Wish ambassador.


The National Association of Social Workers, Hawaii Chapter, honored Haaheo Mansfield, vice president of programs for Parents and Children Together, with its Lifetime Achievement Award for 2009.

Patricia Doran, a medical social worker with St. Francis Home Care, was recognized as Practitioner of the Year; Maureen Kiehm, a program specialist with Family Court, the Social Worker of the Year in Social Justice & Advocacy; and “;Aunty”; Malia Craver of the Queen Liliuokalani Children's Center, the Friend of Social Work.


The Institute of Real Estate Management elected Steven Sofos as president of its Hawaii chapter No. 34. Sofos established Sofos Realty Corp. in 1989.