Hawaii Beat
Star-Bulletin staff and wire reports

Metzger and Gibb win Nissan Championship

Olympian and Punahou alum Stein Metzger capped off a successful year by capturing the men's Nissan Championship Series with partner Jake Gibb yesterday. Metzger and Gibb secured the title with a third-place finish in the AVP Chicago Open.

Of the 14 AVP tournaments this year, Metzger and Gibb won four, the most of any other team. They finished with 5,310 points, 486 points ahead of the second-place team of Dax Holdren and Jeff Nygaard.

HPU suffers first loss at Coyote Classic

The No. 8 Hawaii Pacific volleyball team lost its first match of the season yesterday, dropping a five-game marathon at the Coyote Classic Tournament to host No. 5 Cal State San Bernardino, 28-30, 30-27, 31-33, 30-27, 15-12.

Barbara Martin put down 26 kills to lead the Sea Warriors, and collected 18 digs and seven blocks. Paula Koikopoulos and Flavia Brakling added 19 and 17 kills, respectively.

The Sea Warriors got their ninth win by sweeping past previously unbeaten No. 31 Cal State Bakersfield earlier in the day, 30-28, 30-27, 30-17. Martin and Brakling led HPU with 15 kills apiece.

» Hawaii-Hilo captured the Aspen Hotels Invitational in Anchorage, Alaska, with a four-game win over North Dakota in the championship match, 31-29, 30-21, 32-34, 30-25.

Taina Savage recorded a match-high 26 kills and added 23 digs in the win. Savage was named the tournament's most outstanding player. Rose Ramsey and Kahealani Silva were also named to the all-tournament team. Ramsey added 17 kills, while Silva posted 55 digs against North Dakota.

Sea Warriors Olesen, Klausen win HPU Invite

Hawaii Pacific's Jacob Klausen beat Hawaii-Hilo's Gustavo Arceo by a second to win the men's 8-kilometer race at the HPU Invitational yesterday on the HPU Hawaii Loa campus. Klausen crossed the finish line in 26:22 minutes. Brigham Young-Hawaii won the team title with 41 points.

HPU also took first in the women's 5k, as Anne Olesen finished in a time of 17:47. The Sea Warriors claimed four of the top five spots, helping them win the team title with 20 points.

See line scores and results in the [ Scoreboard ] section.

| | |
E-mail to Sports Desk


© Honolulu Star-Bulletin -- https://archives.starbulletin.com