High School Beat

Banquet honors
former coaches
and supporters

Sages, prep stars and all in between congregated Sunday night for a football fan's treat at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel.

The Hawaii Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame honored 12 more scholar-athletes at its seventh annual banquet. The chapter inducted: Kekoa Crowell of Kauai; Spencer Hafoka and Viliami Tilini of Kahuku; Michael Hanakahi of Pac-Five (Word of Life); Jared Ha'o of Kealakehe; Raphael Ieru of McKinley; Aaron Kia of Mililani; R.J. Kiesel-Kauhane of Aiea; Shawn Lauvao of Farrington; Jayson Rego of Kamehameha; Kevin Sullivan of Saint Louis and C.J. Tausaga of Aiea.

The players were selected on strong performances in football, academics and community contributions.

The chapter also honored Larry Ginoza, Waianae's legendary coach, and longtime athletics supporter Bert Kobayashi.

In addition to the notable scholar-athletes, many coaches and athletics administrators were in attendance, including Kauai coach Kelii Morgado and former Pac-Five coach Joe Onosai. Former UH athletic director Hugh Yoshida and Oahu Interscholastic Association executive director Dwight Toyama delivered presentations of special awards, including one for keynote speaker Richard Kazmaier, the 1951 Heisman Trophy winner.

And, as master of ceremonies John Fink said often to the 12 honorees: "Always do the right thing."

Just believe: Two years ago, Adeline Salva gave her daughter, Jodell, a gift to pass on to grandson Alvin Okami.

Alvin, a sophomore, lost the gold cross. That same year, he recalls, came a close defeat in the OIA boys golf championships.

A year later, he won the crown as a junior.

This year, just one day before he was to defend his OIA championship, Adeline passed away. She and Alvin were extremely close. Last week, she told him that she knew her time was coming.

"He told me, 'Mom, grandma said she's feeling tired,' " Jodell said. "I told him, 'Don't talk like that.' "

A few days later, Adeline was gone, and Alvin lost his second grandmother in three years.

When he woke up Sunday, the cross was on his bed. He put it on, adding a layer of confidence and conviction in his ability. Though Adeline had never seen him golf -- a spinal condition limited her mobility -- she always encouraged him in the sport of his choice.

That made pushing through chronic pain in his right wrist a bit easier at the OIA championships Monday at Turtle Bay Resort.

"I think she was here mentally and emotionally," Okada said. "This cross is all I have to remember her by."

Okada won by six strokes, setting a record with a two-round 138, 6-under par.

Never surrender: Winston Churchill once implored to his nation and allies, "We shall never, ever surrender."

The Lanai Pine Lasses are living the credo. A few days after Lanai athletic director David McHugh announced that the girls basketball team had folded for the rest of the season, the team made a turnaround.

With the roster back to seven players, Lanai still forfeited two games to Hana, but will participate in the Maui Interscholastic League Division II playoffs, which begin tomorrow at King Kekaulike Gym.

Lanai enters the tourney with a 2-8 mark, but the fact that the Pine Lasses are striving to put a positive finish on a controversial season is commendable. It would've been easier for the team and athletic department to give up after the chaos of a March incident that left two coaches and all but two players suspended.

Eagles and hoops: The 2005 Hawaii Baptist Academy Hoop Camp will be held June 7-10 at the school gym.

The coaching staff includes former Hawaii-Hilo coach Jimmy Yagi, ex-Vulcan player Bill O'Rear, Linda Lopez, Hamilton Manley and Eric Sanchez.

The 10th annual camp is open to youths in grades four through 12. The cost is $85.

For more information, call 595-2469.


Athletes of the week


Alvin Okada, Waianae golf: Carded a 72 at Turtle Bay Resort despite a wrist injury to win the Oahu Interscholastic Association title for a second year in a row. He finished with a two-round 138 (6 under) to set a new OIA championship mark.


1,600 sprint medley team, Pac-Five track: The team of Chantel Franco, Jennifer Playdon, Mallory Kurosumi and Lauren Ho won the race with a record time of 4 minutes, 15.27 seconds at the Punahou Relays.

Honor roll


Kaohi Downing, Punahou: Homered and doubled against St. Louis.
Marc Factora, Iolani: Hit a two-run home run with three RBIs against MPI.
Derek Grace, Aiea: Went 3-for-3 with a homer and three RBIs against Kapolei.
Carl Graves, Punahou: Pitched a three-hitter against Maryknoll. Also was the winning pitcher against St. Louis.
Jared Hara, Mid-Pacific: Fired a five-hit shutout against Pac-Five.
Nick Holmberg, Maryknoll: Hurled a three-hit shutout against Damien.
Christian Johnson, Iolani: Pitched a one-hit shutout against Pac-Five.
Matt Kinoshita, Kailua: Went 4-for-5 with a triple and six RBIs against Kalaheo.
Jayson Kramer, Mid-Pacific: Went 3-for-4 with a triple and three RBIs against Pac-Five.
Kip Masuda, Mid-Pacific: Hit a two-run homer with three RBIs at Iolani.
Ryson Mauricio, Kamehameha: Socked a three-run homer and had four RBIs against Maryknoll.
Erik Price, Kamehameha: Threw a five-hit shutout against Maryknoll.
Greg Suwa, Radford: Went 3-for-3 with two triples at Waialua.
Andy Uehara, Kaiser: Hit a homer against Castle.
Conan Young, Mid-Pacific: Hurled a five-inning, one-hit shutout against Pac-Five.


Tiara Dole, St. Anthony: Scored 23 points against Kaahumanu Hou.
Jamie Kondo, Moanalua: Scored 23 points against McKinley.
Shawna-Lei Kuehu, Punahou: Tallied 19 points with 12 rebounds at Kamehameha.
Nicole Lehner, Kaiser: Scored 26 points at Kalaheo.
Ashley Medcalf, Christian Academy: Scored 26 points with 11 rebounds against Hanalani.
Chelsie Sato, McKinley: Scored 22 points against Moanalua.
Jerrell Taituave, Kapolei: Scored 15 points with 16 rebounds against Leilehua.


Brittney Choi, Leilehua: Won the OIA girls title with a two-round 145, including a 73 at Turtle Bay Resort.
Sean Ogawa, Kula: Won the KIF boys title with a 69 at Wailua Golf Course.
Miki Ueoka, Kauai: Captured the KIF girls crown with a 73 at Wailua.


Jessica Brown, Honokaa: Won the high jump and long jump at the BIIF meet in Keaau.
Malcolm Cachero-Wimbish, Keaau: Won the BIIF meet long jump and triple jump.
Chante Ching, Hilo: Won the BIIF meet discus throw and shot put.
Spencer Hafoka, Kahuku: Ran on two winning relay teams at the Punahou Invitational Relays.
June Ann Lusk, Baldwin: Won the 100 and 300 hurdles and the 200 dash and set a meet record in the 100 dash at the MIL championships.
Sarah Nicolaisen, Ka'u: Won the BIIF meet 100 and 300 hurdles.
Whitney Torigoe, Iolani: Ran on two winning relay teams at the Punahou Relays.
Redmond Tutor, Kahuku: Won the long jump and ran on the winning 4x110 shuttle hurdle relay at the Punahou Relays.

To nominate ...

To nominate an athlete of the week, contact the Star-Bulletin Sports Department by 11 p.m. Sunday:
Phone: 529-4782
Fax: 529-4787
E-mail: sports@starbulletin.com

E-mail to Sports Desk


© Honolulu Star-Bulletin -- https://archives.starbulletin.com