Hawaii Beat

Louisville, BYU highlight No. 20 BYUH's slate

Division I basketball foes Louisville and Brigham Young-Provo highlight the upcoming schedule of NCAA men's Division II No. 20 Brigham Young-Hawaii.

The Seasiders, who went 23-6 last season and advanced to the second round of the Division II Regionals, return four starters. Pacific West Conference 2004 player of the year Jake Chrisman is back, along with Austin Smylie, Michael Stowell and Shawn Opunui.

Rick Pitino and the nationally-ranked Cardinals will play at Laie Nov. 20. The Seasiders will visit their sister school in Provo on Nov. 5.

BYUH will also host its own Division II tournament Nov. 18-19.

UCLA wins Kent Youel Invitational

The UCLA women's golf team captured first place in the Kent Youel Invitational yesterday, sweeping the top three spots in the tournament's individual standings.

Amie Cochran shot even-par 72 in the final round at Kapolei Golf Course to finish with a three-round total of 4-under 212. She edged UCLA teammate Susie Mathews by one stroke. Charlotte Mayorkas finished at 2-under.

Host Hawaii finished 15th as a team. Sophomore Dale Gammie was UH's top scorer at 8-over 224, good for a tie for 19th place.

Warrior intrasquad match Saturday

The Hawaii men's volleyball team debuts with an intrasquad scrimmage Saturday at 10 a.m. in Gym 1.

Admission is free and fans are encouraged to bring beach chairs as there are no bleachers. Parking is $3.

Competing for the white team are Brian Beckwith, Matt Bender, Jimbo Clar, Jose Delgado, Eric Kalima, Delano Thomas, Kyle Kinger and Brandon Ricard. The black team members are Pedro Azenha, Matt Carere, Dio Dante, Lauri Hakala, Maulia Labarre, Daniel Rasay, Alfred Reft, Jake Schkud and Brian Villaroman.

The match will be best-of-five.

Feldman and Stubblefield defend title

The team of Andrew Feldman and Larry Stubblefield defeated Shane Abe and Dave Eichelberger 2-and-1 to repeat as champions of the Golf Concepts Four-Ball Match Play Championship yesterday at Oahu Country Club.

Feldman and Stubblefield defeated Kevin Hayashi and Jay Taise in a semifinal match to earn a spot in the final.

Lacrosse Invitational set for Kapiolani Park

Teams from the mainland, Canada and Japan will compete in the 14th annual Hawaii Lacrosse Invitational Friday through Sunday at Kapiolani Park.

Included in the 14-team men's field is Marin Lacrosse Club, led by Casey Powell, the all-time points leader in Major League Lacrosse, and Jesse Hubbard, who holds the MLL record for goals scored. Ten teams are entered in the women's division and six in the men's masters division.

Games will be held from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. Admission is free. More information is available online at hawaiilacrosse.com.

Nolasco half-marathon set

The Val Nolasco Memorial Half-Marathon will be held Nov. 7 with a 5:30 a.m. start at Kapiolani Park.

This is the fifth race of the Michelob Ultra Marathon Readiness Series.

The entry fee is $16 until Nov. 1, $20 thereafter. For more information, call 295-6777.

Sprint race open to public

The Blue Water Challenge, an outrigger canoe sprint race, will be held on Nov. 7 at Koko Marina.

Participants only need to show up with a paddle in the single-elimination sprint race. Entry fee is $30 and includes a T-shirt, buffet dinner, door prize and beer in a commemorative glass for the 250-meter race. Proceeds benefit the Sierra Club.

For information, call 537-9019.

Hawaii State Open set for Nov. 18-21

The Hawaii Prince Golf Club will host the 2004 Prince Resorts Hawaii State Open Nov. 18-21.

The winner's prize will be $6,000 from a total purse of $50,000.

Kris Moe will be back in the championship field to defend his title, and will be joined by several of the state's top amateur and professional golfers, including David Ishii, Kevin Hayashi, Lance Taketa, John Lynch, Brandan Kop, Jonathan Ota, Gary Kong and Shannon Tanoue.

For entry forms go to www.alohapga.com or call 593-2230 or 1-877-PGA-OAHU.

NHL players take part in Ice Hockey Challenge

Former NHL players and celebrities will play in a benefit hockey game on Nov. 14 at The Ice Palace.

Proceeds from the Hawaii Hockey Challenge will benefit the Honolulu Youth Hockey program. NHL Alumni/Celebrity All Stars, which includes local players from the Honolulu Men's hockey team, will challenge the Hawaiian Airlines Jets. All Stars include Ian Turnbull, Bill Ranford, Murray Craven, Reed Larson and Kin Linseman. Celebrities include Alan Thicke from Growing Pains and Michael Ontkean from North Shore.

Tickets are $10 for youth and $15 for adults. For more information, contact 487-9921.

See line scores and results
in the [ Scoreboard ] section.



E-mail to Sports Editor


Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]
© 2004 Honolulu Star-Bulletin -- https://archives.starbulletin.com