Bihag, Ilagan
win titles

Waipahu's Chloe Bihag and Farrington's Mark Ilagan captured Oahu Interscholastic Association tennis singles titles yesterday at Central Oahu Regional Park.

In a rematch of last week's OIA West championship match, Bihag defeated Marauders teammate Christie Pagatpatan again -- 6-3, 6-1.

Ilagan, the East Division champion, defeated West winner Travis Damaso of Pearl City 6-3, 6-1.

In doubles, West champions Andrew and Ryan Murakami of Leilehua captured the overall OIA title by beating Evan Hirata and Shimpei Kobori of Roosevelt 6-1, 6-3.

East winners Marie and Joelle Tanaka of Kailua beat West winners Tiffany Villanueva and Cassie Yoneshige of Leilehua 6-0, 7-5.


Individual Championships
At Central Oahu Regional Park Courts
Semifinal singles
--Travis Damaso, Pearl City, def. Blaine Murobayashi, Mililani, 6-3, 6-2; Mark Ilagan, Farrington, def. Kevin Tachino, Aiea, 6-0, 6-0.
Championship singles--M. Ilagan, Farrington, def. T. Damaso, Pearl City, 6-3, 6-1.
Third-place singles--B. Murobayashi, Mililani, def. K. Tachino, Aiea, 7-5, 6-2.
Semifinal doubles--Andrew Murakami-Ryan Murakami, Leilehua, def. Ross Sugiyama-Reyn Sugiyama, Kalani, 6-4, 7-5; Evan Hirata-Shimpei Kobori, Roosevelt, def. Michael Amorio-Clint Nabua, Farrington, 6-4, 6-4.
Championship doubles--A. Murakami-R. Murakami, Leilehua, def. E. Hirata-S. Kobori, Roosevelt, 6-1, 6-3.
Third-place doubles--M. Amorio-C. Nabua, Farrington, def. Rs. Sugiyama-Rn. Sugiyama, Kalani, 6-4, 6-2.
Semifinal singles
--Chloe Bihag, Waipahu, def. Tiffany DeVincent, Waialua, 6-1, 6-0; Christie Pagatpatan, Waipahu, def. Julienne Yamamoto, Moanalua, 6-3, 2-6, 7-6 (7-5).
Championship singles--C. Bihag, Waipahu, def. C. Pagatpatan, Waipahu, 6-3, 6-1.
Third-place singles--J. Yamamoto, Moanalua, def. T. DeVincent, Waialua, 6-1, 6-1.
Semifinal doubles--Tiffany Villanueva-Cassie Yoneshige, Leilehua, def. Erika Noel-Jaime Yoshino, Kaiser, 7-6 (7-3), 6-3; Marie Tanaka-Joelle Tanaka, Kailua, def. Jessica Lum-Erin Gaza, Pearl City, 6-2, 6-2.
Championship doubles--M. Tanaka-J. Tanaka, Kailua, def. T. Villanueva-Cassie Yoneshige, Leilehua, 6-0, 7-5.
Third-place doubles--E. Noel-J. Yoshino, Kaiser def. J. Lum-E. Gaza, Pearl City, 3-6, 6-4, 6-2.


E-mail to Sports Editor


Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]
© 2004 Honolulu Star-Bulletin --