Hawaii Sports Hall of Fame
to add 4 more members

A diverse group of four local sports figures make up the new class of inductees to the Hawaii Sports Hall of Fame.

John DeSoto, David Ishii, Robby Naish and Sharon Peterson were selected for induction to the hall of fame by panel of local media members.

"This group has an impeccable reputation," said Jim Leahey, KFVE broadcaster and a member of the selection committee. "Everything has been investigated and all the awards verified as to world championships and awards and they are most deserving. Once we read all of the stuff, the vote was unanimous, a slam dunk."

The Hawaii Sports Hall of Fame was established in 1997 and will see its membership grow to 94 with this class to be inducted in February.

"I'm still kind of shocked about it, I had no idea I was even being considered." Peterson said.

Peterson led the Hawaii-Hilo women's volleyball program to seven national championships in her 25-year career as the Vulcans' coach. She retired last year with an overall record of 511-251. She was a member of the U.S. Olympic team in 1984 and '68 was among the inaugural inductees to the NAIA Hall of Fame.

Ishii, who grew up in Lihue, was a state golf champion in high school and played for a national championship team in college while at Houston. He went on to a successful career on the Japan PGA Tour, but his greatest triumph came in 1990 when he won the Hawaiian Open.

DeSoto is already a member of the Motorcycle Hall of Fame. He won state and national motocross championships in the late 1960s and early 70s before going on to a career in local politics.

Naish is a pioneer in windsurfing and won numerous world championships. He was inducted into the Professional Windsurfers Association Hall of Fame in 2002.


E-mail to Sports Editor


Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]
© 2003 Honolulu Star-Bulletin --