UH honors outstanding students

Star-Bulletin staff

The University of Hawaii honored 30 students this month at the 2002 Regents and Presidential Scholarship Awards Dinner.

Presidential scholars include Mary Vorsino, who is working for the Star-Bulletin this summer on an internship through the Society of Professional Journalists.

The UH Board of Regents awarded 20 scholarships to incoming freshmen with at least 1,300 combined mathematics and verbal scores on the Scholastic Assessment Test, maintained at least a 3.5 grade point average in high school, and showed remarkable extracurricular achievements.

Presidential scholarships were awarded to 10 college juniors who have a minimum 3.7 GPA for all college-level work, a record of sustained progress in academic courses and evidence of superior academic achievement or creativity.

Regents scholars receive full tuition waivers for four years of undergraduate study; presidential scholars receive tuition waivers for two years. Winners also receive $4,000 a year and a $2,000 travel grant.

The Regents Scholars are:
>> Dom "DJ" Joavanni Cueva, St. Louis School
>> George "Kelly" Custer, Kailua High School
>> Mark "Dabloy" DeBlois, McKinley High School
>> Brandon Hanagami, Mililani High School
>> Scott Harada, Kalani High School
>> Carline Higaki, Waiakea High School
>> Stephany Ho, Hanalani High School
>> Reina Horikawa, Mililani High School
>> Coty Ishitani, Waianae High School
>> Chad Kawakami, Moanalua High School
>> Kimberly Kido, Kauai High School
>> Jill Kobashigawa, Pearl City High School
>> Edward Lam, Kalani High School
>> Rena Leong, Kalani High School
>> Dawn Nakagawa, Pearl City High School
>> Jennifer Nishimura, Kalani High School
>> Malia Saavedra, Castle High School
>> Kathryn Takahashi, Aiea High School
>> Leah Taylor, Mililani High School
>> Heather Yanazaki, Kalani High School

Presidential Scholars are:
>> Aubri Bush, UH-Hilo
>> Karin Knutzen, Leeward Community College
>> Christopher Luke, UH-Manoa
>> Gavin Masuda, UH-Manoa
>> Mary Anne Meyers, Honolulu Community College
>> Albert Pondok Alamodin, Kauai Community College
>> Graeme Reed, UH-Manoa
>> Knewton Sakata, UH-Manoa
>> Kimm Teruya, UH-Manoa
>> Mary Vorsino, UH-Manoa

E-mail to City Desk


Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]
© 2002 Honolulu Star-Bulletin --