Sports Notebook

Xyra Suyetsugu from Roosevelt is the OIA girls champion.

State girls golf tourney
teeing off on Oahu this time

By Jason Kaneshiro

For the first time in its nine-year history, the state girls golf championship will be decided on Oahu.

The David S. Ishii Foundation/Hawaii High School Athletic Association state girls golf championship tees off at the Hawaii Prince Golf Course tomorrow starting at 6:52 a.m. The final round of the 36-hole tournament is Friday.

Waiakea is among the favorites for the team championship led by scoring leaders Leah Whiting (70.8) and Amanda Wilson (71.5). Wilson won the Big Island Interscholastic Federation individual championship for the Warriors.

Other league champions in the 65-player field are King Kekaulike's Lisa Kajihira (MIL, 74 avg.), Kauai's Lehua Wise (KIF, 75) Roosevelt's Xyra Suyetsugu (OIA, 78.5) and Kamehameha's Mari Chun (ILH, 78.8).

Schools with at least three players entered are eligible for the team championship. Four players may compete per team with the top three scores counting toward the team total.

Kauai, led by individual champion Rachel Kyono, won the team championship last year on Maui's Kaanapali South Course.

The state boys tournament is May 14 and 15 at Leilehua Golf Course.

State hoops field filling up: With most of the spots in the state girls basketball tournament already accounted for, a few teams currently on the wrong side of the fence are scrambling for the final berths.

The ILH third-place tournament continues tonight with semifinal action at McCabe Gym. The finals are 6 p.m. Friday with the winner joining Kamehameha and Punahou as the league's state tournament representatives.

The Maui Interscholastic League tournament starts tomorrow. Baldwin wrapped up the regular-season title and league's top seed with a 23-13 win over Lahainaluna last Saturday. The tournament winner earns the other state berth.

Lahainaluna can secure a spot if it finishes second to Baldwin in the tournament. If Baldwin wins and a team other than Lahainaluna is the runner-up, that team will play the Lunas for the second berth.

Konawaena and Waiakea have clinched the BIIF's state tournament spots. Kapaa will be the KIF representative.

The OIA's four entrants were determined in last week's league quarterfinals. Pearl City, Kalaheo, Kahuku and Moanalua will continue their seasons next week.

The state tournament is May 14-17 at the Stan Sheriff Center.

BIIF title up for grabs: Hilo and St. Joseph meet at 3 p.m. today at Wong Stadium for the BIIF baseball championship.

The winner earns the league's top seed in next week's state tournament. Both teams have already qualified for the tournament at Les Murakami Stadium.

E-mail to Sports Editor

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]

© 2002 Honolulu Star-Bulletin