U.S. Senate vote confirms
Admiral Fargo’s nomination

He will be installed on Thursday
at a full military ceremony

By Gregg K. Kakesako

As expected, Adm. Thomas Fargo's nomination as the 20th commander in chief of the Pacific Command cleared the U.S. Senate last night.

Fargo will assume command of the world's sixth-largest armed forces group with 300,000 American soldiers, sailors, Marines and airmen at a full military ceremony at 4 p.m. Thursday at Marine Corps Base Hawaii in Kaneohe.

He will replace retiring Adm. Dennis Blair as the head of a force of 190 warships and 400 combat aircraft. Deputy Defense Secretary Paul Wolfowitz will be the guest speaker at Thursday's change of command.

Also approved by the Senate last night was the promotion of Gen. Leon J. LaPorte to be the commander in chief of the United Nations Command/ Combined Forces Command in South Korea.

Fargo will become the U.S. Pacific commander as there continue to be threats of armed conflict between China and Taiwan, between North Korea and South Korea, and between India and Pakistan.

Vice Adm. Walter F. Doran has been nominated to replace Fargo as Pacific Fleet commander. His nomination was among the 1,349 promotions approved by the Senate Armed Services Committee last night and sent to the floor action. Final action is expected to take place tonight.

Doran, 56, has been serving as assistant to the chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff since September 2000. Fargo, 53, took over as Pacific Fleet commander on Oct. 8, 1999.

In 1958 the command of the Pacific Fleet was separated from that of the Pacific Command. Since then, chiefs of the Pacific Command have been:

>> Adm. Felix B. Stump, Jan. 14, 1958-July 31, 1958.
>> Adm. Harry D. Felt, July 31, 1958-June 30, 1964.
>> Adm. Ulysses S. Grant Sharp, June 30, 1964-July 31, 1968.
>> Adm. John S. McCain, Jr., July 31, 1968-Sept. 1, 1972.
>> Adm. Noel A.M. Gayler, Sept. 1, 1972-Aug. 30, 1976.
>> Adm. Maurice F. Weisner, Aug. 30, 1976-Oct. 31, 1979.
>> Adm. Robert L.J. Long, Oct. 31, 1979-July 1, 1983.
>> Adm. William J. Crowe Jr., July 1, 1983-Sept. 18, 1985.
>> Adm. Ronald J. Hays, Sept. 18, 1985-Sept. 30, 1988.
>> Adm. Huntington Hardisty, Sept. 30, 1988-March 1, 1991.
>> Adm. Charles R. Larsen, March 1, 1991-July 11, 1994.
>> Lt. Gen. Harold T. Fields, July 11, 1994-July 19, 1994.
>> Adm. Richard C. Macke, July 19, 1994-Jan. 31, 1996.
>> Adm. Joseph W. Prueher, Jan. 31, 1996-Feb. 20, 1999.
>> Adm. Dennis C. Blair, Feb. 20, 1999-May 2, 2002.

E-mail to City Desk


Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]

© 2002 Honolulu Star-Bulletin