H A W A I I _ S U M O T O R I


Star-Bulletin news services

Sunday, January 27, 2002

Tochiazuma defeats
Chiyotaikai in playoff to
capture Emperor’s Cup

TOKYO (AP) - Tochiazuma came from behind with two clutch wins over fellow ozeki (champion) Chiyotaikai to capture the Emperor's Cup on Sunday, the final day of the New Year Grand Sumo Tournament.

In a playoff at Tokyo's Ryogoku Kokugikan, Tochiazuma sidestepped the charging Chiyotaikai at the face off and then swatted his opponent down for his first Emperor's Cup.

"I just tried to stay calm and read the movements of my opponent," Tochiazuma said.

With the victory, Tochiazuma became the first wrestler in 33 years to win the Emperor's Cup in his ozeki debut.

Tochiazuma pulled even with Chiyotaikai at 13-2 and forced the playoff after beating Chiyotaikai in their first showdown of the day. Fighting off a barrage of slaps to the head, Tochiazuma knocked Chiyotaikai out when the veteran grappler briefly lost his footing.

In a battle of sekiwake (junior champion), Kotomitsuki closed out an impressive showing in the New Year tourney with a hard-fought victory over Asashoryu, or Mongolian Dolgorsvren Dagvadrj, who finished at 8-7.

Kotomitsuki improved to 12-3, a record that should earn him promotion to ozeki for the next tournament.

In other major bouts Sunday, ozeki Musoyama forced out Kaio to improve to 10-5 while handing his ozeki counterpart his sixth loss.

Komusubi (junior champion second class) Kyokutenho, or Mongolian Tsevegnyam Nyamjav, was pushed to the edge by Takanowaka but got both hands on the belt of No.5 maegashira and spun him around and out to finish with a 6-9 record. Takanowaka dropped to 3-4-8.

Top maegashira Kyokushuzan, or Mongolian Batbayer Davaa, was shoved out by No.4 maegashira Dejima as both wrestlers finished the tournament with a 6-9 record.

Further down the ranks, No. 15 maegashira Sentoryu, or American Henry Armstrong Miller, dropped to 6-9 after being shoved out by No. 8 maegashira Buyuzan, who improved to 11-4.

In a juryo division bout, fifth-ranked Kuniazuma, or Brazilian Vander Ramos, was driven out by Wakanosho (7-8) to close out the New Year tourney with a record of 6-9.


TOKYO, Jan. 27 (Kyodo) - Results of makuuchi division bouts for Sunday, the final day of the New Year Grand Sumo Tournament at Ryogoku Kokugikan in Tokyo (+ indicates juryo-division wrestler):

Won Technique Lost

+Towanoyama 11-4 yorikiri Wakanoyama 5-10

Oikari 7-8 oshitaoshi Hamanishiki 8-7

Tamarikido 4-11 yorikiri +Kitazakura 6-9

+Takatoriki 9-6 yoritaoshi Kobo 3-12

Buyuzan 11-4 oshidashi Sentoryu 6-9

Tochisakae 9-6 hatakikomi Otsukasa 8-7

Tokitsuumi 11-4 shitatenage Tosanoumi 9-6

Tochinonada 8-7 yorikiri Oginishiki 7-8

Takanonami 8-7 tsukiotoshi Tamakasuga 8-7

Kaiho 5-10 hikiotoshi Jumonji 6-9

Aminishiki 9-6 oshidashi Toki 6-9

Asanowaka 3-12 hikiotoshi Tamanoshima 3-12

Akinoshima 6-9 oshidashi Daizen 7-8

Dejima 6-9 oshidashi Kyokushuzan 6-9

Kyokutenho 6-9 tsuridashi Takanowaka 3-4-8

Wakanosato 8-7 yorikiri Kotonowaka 8-7

Kotomitsuki 12-3 oshidashi Asashoryu 8-7

Tochiazuma 13-2 oshidashi Chiyotaikai 13-2

Musoyama 10-5 oshidashi Kaio 9-6

Championship playoff

Tochiazuma tsukiotoshi Chiyotaikai


Makuuchi - Tochiazuma, Tamanoi stable 13-2 (winner in playoff)

Juryo - Takamisakari, Azumazeki stable 12-3 (winner in playoff)

Makushita - Kasugao, Kasugayama stable 7-0

Sandamme - Kokkai, Oitekaze stable 7-0

Jonidan - Midorifuji, Onomatsu stable 7-0 (winner in playoff)

Jonokuchi - Anju, Ajigawa stable 7-0

(Note: Wrestlers in sumo's four junior divisions compete in only seven bouts during the tournament.)


Outstanding Performance Award - not awarded

Technique Prize - Kotomitsuki, Sadogatake stable (5), Tokitsuumi, Toitsukaze stable (2)

Fighting Spirit Prize - Buyuzan, Musashigawa stable (2)

For more sumo information online, try:
Sumo Web
Da Kine Sumo E-zine
Grand Sumo Home Page
Kyodo News Service

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor] [Feedback]

© 2002 Honolulu Star-Bulletin