Star-Bulletin Sports

Sunday, January 13, 2002


Kreutz to start in Pro Bowl

Star-Bulletin wire services

NEW YORK >> Olin Kreutz of Aina Haina will make his Pro Bowl debut this year as a starter.

The fourth-year Chicago Bears center, who attended St. Louis School and the University of Washington, was named the NFC's starter yesterday. The game will be played at Aloha Stadium on Feb. 9.

Also, Brett Favre will start at quarterback ahead of Most Valuable Player Kurt Warner for the NFC.

Favre, of the Green Bay Packers, and Rich Gannon of Oakland are the starting quarterbacks, and sack king Michael Strahan and Curtis Martin, who eclipsed 1,000 yards rushing for the seventh straight season, were also among those announced as starters yesterday.

Strahan, whose 2212 sacks for the New York Giants set a league record, heads the NFC defense. Martin, who ran for 1,513 yards for the New York Jets, will start for the AFC ahead of Priest Holmes, who edged Martin by 42 yards for the NFL rushing title.

Other starters on offense for the NFC are tight end Bubba Franks of Green Bay, running back Marshall Faulk and tackle Orlando Pace of St. Louis, fullback Mike Alstott of Tampa Bay, wide receivers David Boston of Arizona and Terrell Owens of San Francisco, guards Larry Allen of Dallas and Ron Stone of the Giants and tackle Chris Samuels of Washington.

Gannon and Martin are joined on the AFC offensive team by wide receivers Marvin Harrison of Indianapolis and Rod Smith of Denver, tackle Lincoln Kennedy of Oakland, tight end Tony Gonzalez and guard Will Shields of Kansas City, fullback Larry Centers of Buffalo, guard Alan Faneca of Pittsburgh, tackle Jonathan Ogden of Baltimore and center Kevin Mawae of the Jets.

Gonzalez is injured and will miss the game. No replacement has been named.

Joining Strahan on the NFC defensive squad are end Hugh Douglas and free safety Brian Dawkins of Philadelphia, interior lineman Warren Sapp, outside linebacker Derrick Brooks and cornerback Ronde Barber of Tampa Bay, interior lineman La'Roi Glover and strong safety Sammy Knight of New Orleans, inside linebacker Brian Urlacher of Chicago, cornerback Aeneas Williams of St. Louis, and outside linebacker LaVar Arrington of Washington.

The starting AFC defenders are inside linebacker Ray Lewis and free safety Rod Woodson of Baltimore, end Marcellus Wiley and strong safety Rodney Harrison of San Diego, cornerbacks Sam Madison of Miami and Charles Woodson of Oakland, end John Abraham of the Jets, tackles Trevor Pryce of Denver and John Randle of Seattle, and outside linebackers Jason Gildon of Pittsburgh and Jamir Miller of Cleveland.

E-mail to Sports Editor

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]

© 2002 Honolulu Star-Bulletin