Political File

News, notes and anecdotes
on government and politics

Monday, December 31, 2001

Small Business Hawaii
to host candidates for
governor, mayor

Candidates for governor of Hawaii and mayor of Honolulu will be featured speakers at the 26th Annual Small Business Hawaii Conference Jan. 9 at the Ala Moana Hotel.

The keynote luncheon in the Garden Lanai will feature gubernatorial candidates Andy Anderson (D), John Carroll (R), Ed Case (D), Jeremy Harris (D) and Linda Lingle (R). Small Business Hawaii's newsletter predicted the November election will be "the most critical since statehood -- and will determine our future business direction."

A media panel and members of the audience will question the gubernatorial contenders. Also on the bill are investment specialist and venture capitalist Randy Havre, state Auditor Marion Higa, Honolulu mayoral candidates and a legislative preview.

BOE committees: The state Board of Education made the following committee leadership assignments Dec. 20:

>> Regular Education, K-12: Chairwoman Denise Matsumoto, Vice Chairman Sherwood Hara and members Shannon Ajifu, Carol Gabbard, Marilyn Harris, Karen Knudsen and Brennan Takayama.

>> Special Programs: Chairman Meyer Ueoka, Vice Chairwoman Marilyn Harris and members Denise Matsumoto, Michael Nakamura and Keith Sakata.

>> Support Services: Chairman Keith Sakata, Vice Chairwoman Donna Ikeda and members Shannon Ajifu, Lex Brodie, Sherwood Hara and Meyer Ueoka.

>> Students Services: Chairwoman Karen Knudsen, Vice Chairman Brennan Takayama and members Sherwood Hara, Donna Ikeda, Michael Nakamura and Winston Sakurai.

>> Public Libraries: Chairman Winston Sakurai, Vice Chairwoman Marilyn Harris and members Lex Brodie, Michael Nakamura and Meyer Ueoka.

>> Adult Education: Chairman Sherwood Hara, Vice Chairwoman Denise Matsumoto and members Carol Gabbard, Karen Knudsen and Winston Sakurai.

>> Charter Schools: Chairwoman Donna Ikeda, Vice Chairwoman Shannon Ajifu and members Lex Brodie, Carol Gabbard and Keith Sakata.

>> Collective Bargaining: Unit 5 (HSTA) Chairman Winston Sakurai and Vice Chairwoman Denise Matsumoto. Unit 6 (HGEA) Chairwoman Shannon Ajifu and Vice Chairwoman Carol Gabbard.

>> Budget and Fiscal Accountability: Committee of the whole.

>> Ad Hoc Committee on Superintendent/State Librarian Evaluation: Chairwoman Donna Ikeda, Vice Chairwoman Shannon Ajifu and members Lex Brodie, Marilyn Harris, Keith Sakata and Meyer Ueoka.

>> Ad Hoc Committee on BOE Operations: Leadership (BOE officers)

BOE officers were chosen on Dec. 13 for one-year terms. They are Chairman Herbert Watanabe, First Vice Chairwoman Donna Ikeda and Second Vice Chairwoman Karen Knudsen. The chairperson serves as a nonvoting member of all standing committees.

Legislature Directory
Legislature Bills & Hawaii Revised Statutes

E-mail to City Desk

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]

© 2001 Honolulu Star-Bulletin