Sunday, April 15, 2001

Students win big
cash for college

15th Annual Sterling Scholar Awards

Star-Bulletin staff

A Big Island public high school senior was the big winner at this year's 15th Annual Sterling Scholar Awards.

Naupaka Bruce Zimmerman of Waiakea High School received $2,500 in scholarship money for use this fall when he plans to attend either Stanford or Harvard University.

Zimmerman, ranked at the top of his 461-member class with a 4.23 grade-point-average, won top honors in the General Scholarship category.

A total of $48,000 in scholarship money was awarded in 13 categories.

Runners-up in the General Scholarship category were Kay Miko Fukunaga of St. Anthony's, second place, receiving $1,500, and Kimberly Lei Harano of Punahou, third, $1,000.

Two other finalists, Lisa Yoshimi of Iolani and Sumeet Singh Ajmani of Seabury Hall each received $500.

Awards of $3,500 were presented in 12 other categories. Each winner earned $1,500, with second place receiving $1,000 and third place $500. The remaining two finalists each received $250.

Nearly $1 million has been presented in scholarships to Hawaii high school seniors since the Polynesian Cultural Center began the Sterling Scholar Program in 1987.

Presenting sponsors this year besides the center included the Coca-Cola Foundation, KFVE/News 8, Honolulu Star-Bulletin, Poulton Associates and KPMG Peat Marwick.

Supporting sponsors were Aloha Airlines, state Department of Education, Clarence Lee Design and Associates, McNeil Wilson Communications, FJC and N, Pizza Hut Hawaii, Roberts Hawaii and the Schiller Group.

The Polynesian Cultural Center hosted the ceremony in the Pacific Theater with parents, family members and friends of the students in the audience.

The program will be televised by KFVE starting at 4:30 p.m. today.

The winners list

General Scholarship

1. Naupaka Bruce Zimmerman, Waiakea High School
2. Kay Miko Fukunaga, St. Anthony's High School
3. Kimberly Lei Harano, Punahou School

Runners Up

>> Sumeet Singh Ajmani, Seabury Hall
>> Lisa Miyuki Yoshimi, Iolani School

Business Education

1. Tracie Yuri Jacinto, Kaua'i High School
2. Anna Lavelle Soliven, Hilo High School
3. Kelsey Kimi Nakata, Waipahu High School

Runners Up

>> Malia Danielle Miyashiro, Punahou School
>> Nathaniel David Ushio, Kaiser High School

Computer Science & Technology

1. Felma Andres Duque, Lahainaluna High School
2. Lynne Mariko Yasui, Iolani School
3. Brandi Masako Horikawa, Mililani High School

Runners Up

>> Keith Tsuyoshi Takishita, Punahou School
>> William Herman Williams, Hilo High School


1. Kanoe Marissa Lum, Punahou School
2. Anna Pauline Weaver, Sacred Hearts Academy
3. Lily Elan Diamond, Seabury Hall

Runners Up

>> Jolene Taeko Okaneku, Kaua'i High School
>> Bradlee Ken Sako, Leilehua High School

Foreign Language

1. Kevin Chin Wei Yang, Iolani School
2. John Joel Albert Chock, Punahou School
3. Christopher Allen Wada, Baldwin High School

Runners Up

>> Sarah Shaw Pomaikai Wong, Kamehameha Schools
>> Diana Sachiko Kusunoki, Kealakehe High School

Hawaiian Studies

1. Hi'ilei Kapualihauiekauanoe Kaina, Hilo High School
2. Kapalai'ula de Silva, Kamehameha Schools
3. Iokepa 'Aukai Bagood, Farrington High School

Runners Up

>> Kurt Lawrence Medeiros, Jr., Kaua'i High School
>> Jennifer Hokulani Bischoff, Waiakea High School

Industrial Arts

1. Jeffrey John Seastrom, Waiakea High School
2. Elaine Sachiko Owens, McKinley High School
3. Kristina Keating Jacobson, Punahou School

Runners Up

>> Erin Emi U'ilani Irie, Hilo High School
>> Harvey C. Alipio, Lahainaluna High School


1. Laura Lee Savidge, Punahou School
2. Joanne Wing Lan Yim, McKinley High School
3. Kellen K.K.W. King, St. Louis School

Runners Up

>> Michael Yuen Young, Iolani School
>> John How Yin Poon, Kaiser High School


1. Evangeline Chang, University Lab School
2. Allyson Akiko Spence, Kaimuki High School
3. Margot Chieko Kimura, Pearl City High School

Runners Up

>> Cheri Mayumi Kishimoto, Kaimuki High School
>> Megan Hanako Murai, Moanalua High School

Speech & Drama

1. Clayton James Barnett, Kealakehe High School
2. Jamie Norie Shore, Mid-Pacific Institute
3. Tamara Marisa Wahl, Iolani School

Runners Up

>> Ruth Miles, Kaimuki High School
>> Adrienne Ishbel Leduc, Punahou School

Social Science

1. Stephanie Weizhe Hu, University Lab School
2. Jennifer Chi Lee, Iolani School
3. Erin Kimiko Tanaka, Baldwin High School

Runners Up

>> Jeanmarie Arcilla Barnhart, Punahou School
>> Jessica Lynn Kirschbraun, St. Anthony's High School


1. Leighton Makoto Ige, Iolani School
2. Magali Antonia Marie Fassiotto, Punahou School
3. Candace Sachi Seu, Waiakea High School

Runners Up

>> Garrett Soong, Baldwin High School
>> Min Suk Kim, McKinley High School

Visual Arts

1. Tod Hisaji Gushiken, Baldwin High School
2. Kellie Ann Akiko Okai, Iolani High School
3. Stephen Gregory Ludwig, Mililani High School

Runners Up

>> Alana Ruth Tyau, Punahou School
>> Kathleen Marie Wooton, Radford High School

E-mail to City Desk

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]

© 2001 Honolulu Star-Bulletin