Advertisement - Click to support our sponsors.

Monday, July 10, 2000

Taking Notice

Honors earned


Bullet W. Allen Doane, president and chief executive officer of Alexander & Baldwin Inc., has received Hawaii Pacific University's Fellow of the Pacific Award.

Bullet Cicely A. George and Mary Pat Larsen, Classics at Waikele sales agents, have been named Schuler Homes Top Producing Sales Team for the first quarter with 21 sales.

Bullet AT&T Cares has been named 1999 Outstanding Corporate Advocate for the Children and Youth of Hawaii by Hawaii Kids Watch.

Bullet Danny Sagadraca, a Kauai emergency medical technician with the American Medical Response ambulance service, has been recognized as a "Star of Life" by the American Ambulance Association.

Bullet John Stepulis, assistant dean of nursing at Hawaii Pacific University, has received the 1999 Nursing Leadership Award from the Gamma Psi Chapter-at-Large of Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honor Society.

Bullet The Girl Scout Council of Hawaii presented the following awards at its 1999 Adult Recognitions Luncheon:

Thanks Badge -- Jack Dwyer and Thia Rossi; Thanks II Badge -- Marilyn Kali; Lifetime Volunteer Award -- Evelyn Hoffman;

Community Benefactor Award -- Aloha United Way, Irving Lauber, Hawaii Community Foundation and La Pietra School;

Honor Pin -- Lillian Lui and Nicky Thomas; Appreciation Pin -- Jennifer Coker, Bernice Domagsac, Carolyn Gire, Ramona Morris, Le Anne Olson and Barett Otani;

President's Hui Po'okela Award -- Hickam, Honolulu, Hui Ho'okela, Kalihi-Palama, Koko Head, Kolekole, Ohana and Waipahu Service Units; and

Council Plaque -- Bravo Co., 1st Battalion, 27th Infantry "borzoi"; Channel 2 Schofield Barracks; Randy Hiraki; Commercial Plumbing; Bambi and Mitch D'Olier; Foodland Supermarkets; Val Gonzales, Ace Hardware-Ben Franklin Crafts, Kailua-Kona; Kenny Hough; Danny Kali; Euclid Lee; Kaimuki Christian Church; Kamehameha Schools; Kilohana United Methodist Church; John Knorek; and Saint John Vianney Church.

Awards were also given to the following girl scouts at the Annual Girl Scout Gold and Silver Celebration:

Gold Award (troop numbers in parentheses) -- Lauren Abe (972), Kathryn Anbe (415), Laura Atwater (337), Krysti Cabral (505), Adrienne Fong (200), Tiffanie S.K. Jinbo (415); Sheri Katayama (415); Deneen M. Kiyuna (415), Kris Okazaki (97), Trina Orimoto (200), Jaime Rabacal (415), Claire Y. Sakata (415), Lesley Santo (200), Michelle Sato (200), Stacey Soken (81), Melanie Soma (81), Taylor Tengelsen (911), and Catherine Uyeda (200), all from Oahu.

From Kauai, Jill Dobashi (953) and Erin Aiko Yaguchi (953). From Molokai, Carla Gorsich (527). And from Hawaii, Amanda E.K. Patao (450).

Bullet These volunteers were presented with appreciation plaques by Gov. Cayetano for their services to the Salvation Army: Kaiser Permanente Honolulu Clinic, CSX Lines, Leslie Wilcox, Dr. Kevin Kunz, Donna Hodges and Connie Espejo.


Scholastic honors

Bullet Kiani Arkus and Shanelle Sanborn of Kamehameha Secondary School and Zachary Stone of Punahou School have won Grand Awards at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair.

Arkus placed second in the medicine and health category for her project "Hala and HELA: Growth Inhibitory Effects of Pandanus odoratissimus (pandanus root) on Human Cervical Cancer Cells"; Sanborn placed third in the category for her two-year study on anticancer floritoxin in Aleurites molucanna (kukui).

Stone placed third in the biochemistry category for his project "Molecular Analysis of Putative Hybrids from Protoplast Fusion in Porphyra (seaweed)."

Bullet Darrel Tanaka, a Wahiawa native teaching at Washington Middle School in Seattle, Wash., has received the Crystal Scholar award from Immunex Corp.

Bullet Kristine Miyata, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Melvin Miyata of Pearl City, has been named to Bradley University's Teacher Education Academic Hall of Fame and received the Academic Achievement Award in teacher education.

Bullet Dara Ono, daughter of Eileen Ono of Aiea, received Bradley University's Katherine R. Noe Mellen Dietetics Excellence Award and the Academic Achievement Award in family and consumer sciences.

Bullet Erika Palumbo of Honolulu, a recent Rutgers College graduate, will have her poster presentation on single mothers' parenting skills displayed at the International Conference of Infant Studies being held in England.


Scholarships awarded


Bullet Oceanic Cable and American Movie Classics have awarded Jennifer Zipp, Lori Ann Hamano and Bobbie Villamor each $500 scholarships. The three were grand prize winners in the companies' "Behind the Screen Test" talent search.

Bullet Taieya Goda has been named 2000 Youth of the Year for Hawaii by the Boys & Girls Clubs of America.

Goda will receive a $25,000 scholarship from Oprah Winfrey's "Angel Network."

E-mail to City Desk

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]

© 2000 Honolulu Star-Bulletin