Advertisement - Click to support our sponsors.

Wednesday, May 3, 2000

Eight win National
Merit Scholarships

Star-Bulletin staff


Eight Hawaii high school seniors are among the 2,500 students nationwide to win $2,000 scholarships, the National Merit Scholarship Corp. announced today.

A selection committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors evaluated the finalists on the basis of academic record, scores from two tests, contributions and leadership in school and community activities and an essay describing interests and goals.

The winners:

Bullet Sofia K. Jensen of Hawaii Preparatory Academy is undecided about a career choice. She won the school's highest academic class standing award for three years, Bausch & Lomb award and Mount Holyoke Book Award.
Bullet Tracy L. Kamikawa of Iolani School plans a career in biomedical engineering. Other honors have been highest academic record for three years, letter award for academic excellence from Cum Laude Society for three years, Maureen O'Donnell award for achievement in Latin.
Bullet Sara S. Knauer of King Kekaulike High School will study theoretical astrophysics. She was in the National Honor Society, competed in the State Math Bowl and the Academic Decathlon.
Bullet Camilla K. Lau of Iolani School plans to enter the field of engineering. She won a Bausch & Lomb award, top scholar in the Hawaii's Junior Miss competition and received the Harvard book award.
Bullet Nicole E. Lim of Iolani School will enter business. She is class valedictorian, received National Council of Teachers of English recognition for writing skills, was steward of the Millennium Young People's Congress.
Bullet Rylan P. Sekiguchi of Roosevelt High School is undecided about his field of future study. He was named outstanding English student for three years, outstanding trigonometry/analytic geometry student and named to the National Honor Society.
Bullet Zachary B. Stone of Punahou School will study physics. He won first place award in the State Science & Engineering Fair, got the Rickover Award from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and was co-president of the State National Honor Society.
Bullet Stephanie K. Wong of St. Andrew's Priory School plans to study chemical engineering. She was in the National Honor Society, won the Wellesley College book award and was editor-in-chief of the yearbook.

The scholarships are underwritten by the National Merit Scholarship Corp. and 600 companies and institutions. The number of winners in each state is determined by what percentage of the national total of graduating seniors are in that state.

E-mail to City Desk

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]

© 2000 Honolulu Star-Bulletin