Advertisement - Click to support our sponsors.

Star-Bulletin Sports

Wednesday, April 12, 2000

P R E P _ S O C C E R


Iolani’s Lee-Yee
gets his kicks on defense


By Dave Reardon


The 2000 boys' state soccer Player of the Year made the game-winning penalty kick in the state championship.

But Seth Lee-Yee was really all about "D."

The Iolani senior found the back of the Mililani net and some notoriety in the state title victory. Still, his main value to the Raiders was not one shining moment, but his steady play as a backrow defender -- for four years as a starter.

"He was usually the guy you don't notice unless he's not there," Iolani coach Myles Arakawa said. "Over the years, it was his willingness to learn and his ability to learn that set him apart."

That, and the ability to stymie opposing strikers time after time.

"Forwards usually get the glory, so I guess it's nice for a defender to get the award," Lee-Yee said. "But playing defense, you get satisfaction seeing your teammates do well, and knowing that you contributed to the success when you win."

Lee-Yee is one of four Iolani players to make the all-state first team, chosen by a panel of coaches and officials (see below for complete team and all-league teams chosen by league coaches).

Jeff Yamamoto of Mililani was named Coach of the Year.

Although the Trojans missed out on winning the state championship, Arakawa said Yamamoto is extremely deserving.

"I've come to know Jeff over the years, and he does a lot for the kids, behind the scenes on his own," Arakawa said. "They lost a lot of seniors last year, but still made a big improvement."

In Yamamoto's six years as Mililani's head coach, the Trojans are 45-0-7 in the regular season and 14-6 in state tournament play.

Lee-Yee is joined on the first team by three teammates: midfielder Travis Watanabe and Erik Chun and defender Matthew Alices.

Mililani also placed four players: midfielders Kerry Miike andJarrett Razon, defender Timothy Liu and goalkeeper Andrew Brown.

Three Pearl City players made the first team: forwardsGerard Horn and Kris Knight and defender Travis Kubota.

Forwards Charles Rania (Punahou) and Andrew Ponce (Baldwin), midfielder Benji Villaflor (Aiea), defender Mike Akinaka (King Kekaulike) and goalkeeper Eddie Ruhland (Hilo) round out the first team.

The Star-Bulletin will publish the girls' all-state team next week.


Boys' All-State Team

(Selected by a 17-member statewide panel representing
coaches and officials and including Olympic
Development Program officials)

Player of the Year: Seth Lee-Yee, Iolani.

Coach of the Year: Jeff Yamamoto, Mililani.

First team

Forwards: Gerald Horn, Sr., Pearl City; Charles Rania, Jr., Punahou; Andrew Ponce, Sr., Baldwin; Kris Knight , Sr., Pearl City. Midfielders: Kerry Miike, Sr., Mililani; Erik Chun, Sr., Iolani; Jarrett Razon, Jr., Mililani; Benji Villaflor, Jr., Aiea; Travis Watanabe, Jr. Iolani; Defenders: Matthew Alices, Sr., Iolani; Seth Yee-Lee, Sr., Iolani; Travis Kubota, Sr., Pearl City; Tim Liu, Jr., Mililani; Mike Akinaka, Sr., King Kekaulike. Goalkeepers: Andrew Brown, Sr., Mililani; Eddie Ruhland, Jr., Hilo.

Second team

Forwards: Sean Sprinkel, Sr., Aiea; Aidan Colton, Sr., Waiakea; Kurtis Higaki, Sr., Leilehua; Kawehi Clarke, Jr., Hawaii Prep; Marcus Ryan, Fr., Iolani. Midfielders: Avenn Moratin, so., Castle; Marc Contee, Sr., Iolani; Robert Camerrer, Sr., Pearl City; Kumu Belcher, Sr., Hilo; Russell Kimura, Sr., Castle. Defenders: Brian Shinjo, Jr., Hilo; David Clarkson, Sr., Hawaii Prep; Steven Chun, Sr., Castle; Reid Shimogawa, Sr., Aiea; Kalei Cotton, Sr., Waiakea; Blaine Murakami, Jr., Mililani. Goalkeepers: Christopher Wong, Sr., Iolani; Michael King, Sr., Pearl City.

BIIF First Team

Player of the Year: Eddie Ruhland, Hilo.

Coach of the Year: Don Memmer, Hilo.

Forwards: Tyson Ferreira, Sr., Honokaa; Eric Franke, Sr., Makua Lani; Nick Berry, Jr., Konawaena. Midfielders: Aidan Colton, Sr., Waiakea; Kaeo Lee, So., Kealakehe; Micah Pueschel, Sr., Hawaii Prep; Kumu Belcher, Sr., Hilo. Backs: Kalei Cotton, Sr., Waiakea; David Clarkson, Sr., Hawaii Prep; Catlin Peterson, Sr., Hawaii Prep; Brian Shinjo, Jr., Hilo. Goal: Eddie Ruhland, Jr., Hilo.

ILH First Team

Player of the Year: Matthew Alices, Iolani.

Coach of the Year: Myles Arakawa, Iolani.

Forwards: Scott Henderson, Sr., Iolani; Charles Rania, Jr., Punahou. Midfielders: Tetua Pauoa, Sr. Kamehameha; Erik Chun, Sr., Iolani; Travis Watanabe, Jr., Iolani; Jamil Nunes-Atabaki, Sr., Punahou; Jonathan Robello, Sr., St. Louis. Fullbacks: Seth Yee-Lee, Sr., Iolani; Matthew Alices, Sr., Iolani; Sean Akamine, Jr., Punahou. Goalkeeper: Christopher Wong, Sr., Iolani.

KIF First Team

Player of the Year: Ashley Vidinha, Waimea.

Coach of the Year: Louis Abrams Sr., Kauai.

Forwards: Cole Brandeburg, Jr., Kauai; Jamieson Cosier, Sr., Waimea; Donovan Agan, Sr., Waimea. Midfielders: Duncan MacDonald, Sr., Kapaa; Kyle Kagimoto, Sr., Kauai; Colby Ayonon, Jr., Kapaa. Defenders: Kesson Yamamoto, Jr., Kauai; Sean Kosen, Jr., Kauai; Jeffrey Denny, Sr., Waimea. Goalkeeper: Matthew Fujikawa, Jr., Kauai. Utility: Ryan Rolland, Sr., Kauai.

MIL First Team

(From the Maui News)

Player of the Year: Mike Akinaka, King Kekaulike.

Coach of the Year: Peter Kehano, King Kekaulike.

Forwards: Chad Loui, Sr., Baldwin; Andrew Ponce, Sr., Baldwin. Forward/Midfielder: Kevin Green, Sr., King Kekaulike. Midfielders: Cody Loui, Jr., Maui; Stacy Kodani, Sr., Seabury Hall; Brent Nunes, Sr., Baldwin; Clayton Sado, Jr., Baldwin. Defenders: Kent Kinoshita, Jr., Baldwin; Torrey Kwok, Sr., King Kekaulike; Mike Akinaka, Sr., King Kekaulike. Utility: Waiohuli Dancil, Sr., King Kekaulike. Goalkeeper: Isaiah Frazier, Sr., St. Anthony.

OIA East First Team

Player of the Year: Ross Nakagawara, Roosevelt.

Coach of the Year: Bruce Omura, Kaiser.

Forwards: Bobby Self, Jr., Kaiser; Robert Lee, Sr., Castle; Kota Kawarazaki, Sr., Kalani. Midfielders: Russell Kimura, Sr., Castle; Howard Caires, Sr., Kaiser; Justin Goo, Sr., Roosevelt. Defenders: Lopaka Mounts, Sr., Kalaheo; Shaun McCarthy, Jr., Kalaheo; Steven Chun, Sr., Castle; Ross Nakagawara, Sr., Roosevelt. Goalkeeper: Kealii Kuehu, Sr., Castle.

OIA West First Team

Player of the Year: Gerald Horn, Pearl City.

Coach of the Year: Spencer Machado, Mililani.

Forwards: Gerard Horn, Sr., Pearl City; Kurtis Higaki, Sr., Leilehua; Jarvis Uehara, Jr., Aiea; Midfielders: Kerry Miike, Sr., Mililani; Ben Villaflor, Jr., Aiea; Kenji Treschuk, Sr., Moanalua. Defenders: Travis Kubota, Sr., Pearl City; Jared Ito, Sr., Pearl City; Chris Newcomer, Sr., Aiea; Ian Yoneshige, Sr., Moanalua.

E-mail to Sports Editor

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]

© 2000 Honolulu Star-Bulletin