Advertisement - Click to support our sponsors.

Monday, March 20, 2000

Taking Notice


Grants and donations

Bullet Kaimuki Christian School has received a $50,000 grant from the Samuel N. and Mary Castle Foundation for the expansion of its educational facilities.

Bullet Fresh Start Inc. has received a $50,000 grant from Cooke Foundation Ltd. to purchase computer equipment. Fresh Start Inc. is a structured living skills program that helps recovering alcoholics, addicts and ex-offenders.

Bullet Angel Network Charities has received a $600 grant from the American Express Foundation to help Hawaii's homeless families.

Bullet Hawaii Foodbank has received $12,000 from the International Food Service Executives Association. The money was raised from the association's 16th annual golf tournament.

Bullet Kalihi-Palama Health Center's "It Can Happen To You," a play focusing on teen pregnancy, STDs and HIV/AIDS prevention, has received a $25,000 grant from the Hawaii Community Foundation's Robert Emens Black Fund. The grant will help performers tour local high schools.

Funding from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, will also send the play to California next year.

Bullet Continental Savings Bank has donated $5,000 to the Kids Opportunity Program administered by Homeless Solutions. The program provides recreational and educational opportunities to homeless children.

Scholastic honors

Bullet Laurie H. Sumiye of Mililani has graduated cum laude from Bradley University in Illinois.

Bullet The Clerical Staff Council of Leeward Community College has presented $600 scholarships to Sharon Nau and Victoria Custino. Nau is majoring in accounting and office administration technology and Custino is majoring in food service.

Bullet University of Hawaii-Manoa's College of Education scholarships have been awarded to: Jeffrey Fukushima, Kat Hannah, Andrea Kekipi, Jennifer McCord, James Vergara, Tina Nakamoto, Victoria Villegas, Shawna West, Beckey Wong, Cynthia Wong and Jennifer Wong of Oahu; and Tabitha Secretario of Kauai. Money was available through a grant from the Coca-Cola Foundation.

Bullet Stephanie Cho of Kailua and Eliza Hernandez of Mililani have been selected to attend the National Young Leaders Conference in Washington, D.C.

Bullet Winners of the Pacific High School Symposium include Zachary Stone of Punahou School, regional winner; Alan Carmichael of Kapaa High School, runner-up; and Su Que Leong and Savina Goo of McKinley High School and Brian Nishiguchi of Kauai High, finalists. Punahou School science teacher Michael Hu won the regional teacher award.

Bullet Janis Yim and Gina Yamane have received the Girl Scouts' Gold Award for their project on the planning of a bereavement camp for children in conjunction with Hospice Hawaii.

Bullet Kit Okimoto of Iolani School has been selected to participate in a two-day physics workshop at Lawrence University in Wisconsin.

Bullet Eighteen Iolani School seniors have been named candidates in this year's Presidential Scholars Program, chosen from more than 2 million students nationwide. They are Stanley P. Chang, Jaime L. Chinen, Yvonne L. Firing, Ken H. Kakesako, Tracy L. Kamikawa, Camilla K. Lau, Bradford W. Lee, Nicole E. Lim, Ryan Y. Namba, Elliot K. Oki, Clayton K. Schroers, Gail U. Shinkawa, Ampara T. Visser, David S. Wakukawa, Chanelle K. Yamada, Andrew C. Yang, Milton M. Yeung and Jonathan S. Young.

Bullet University of Hawaii students Joshua Cooper and Ohana Foley have been appointed to the Student Peace Action Network's national board of directors.


Officers and promotions

Bullet Kathleen Tirrell has been named deputy director of Parents and Children Together.

Bullet Winners of the Governor's Highway Safety Council's Alakai Awards for leadership in highway safeway are: Tom Gabrielli from the Department of Transportation, for engineering; Carol McNamee, founder of MADD Hawaii, for education; and Sgt. Bob Lung, Honolulu Police Department, Judge James Dannenberg, Judiciary, and Marie Kosengarten and Larry Butrick, Prosecutor's Office, for enforcement.

Bullet Kristine Vasey Smith has been appointed Hawaii Pacific University's alumni and parent relations coordinator.

Bullet Carolann Biederman has been appointed president of Junior Achievement of Hawaii.

Bullet A new class of adult corrections officer recruits has graduated. New officers recognized at the ceremony include: Neilson Manguchei, academic award; Christian Ahakuelo, physical fitness award; Matthew Utu, most inspirational recruit award; Derrick Gella, top gun award; and Nathan Walker, distinguished recruit award.

Bullet The 1999 Aloha Aina Realtor Awards have been bestowed: for the Real Estate Showcase People's Choice Award, Carla D. Fishman, David Li, Patricia A. McIntyre, Rodney S. Mukai and Larry T. Saito; for Realtors Choice, Ginaann M. Carrick, Robert Harper, Jerome T. Dennehy, Jeannine E. Omayas and Leeda I. Patrick; and for Newcomer of the Year, Dale K. Bordner, Mary K. Flood, Gaylien S. Hall, James Mazzola and Bonnie S. Nako.

Bullet Bank of Hawaii--Vault Services Operation has received Ho'opono's award for 1999 Outstanding Employer of Persons with Disabilities.

Bullet Sue Ann Wright has been named executive director of the Girl Scout Council of Hawaii.

Bullet Rebecca Dunning has been appointed executive director of the Hawaii Youth Symphony Association.

Bullet The National Federation of Independent Business, Hawaii chapter, has delivered its 1999 Guardian of Small Business awards to: Rep. Robert N. Herkes, Sen. Norman Sakamoto, Sen. Sam Slom, Rep. Colleen Meyer and Rep. David Stegmaier.

Bullet Marcie Farias has become the Outdoor Circle's fund development manager.

E-mail to City Desk

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]
[Stylebook] [Feedback]

© 2000 Honolulu Star-Bulletin