Star-Bulletin Sports

Saturday, November 13, 1999

P A C _ W E S T _ V O L L E Y B A L L


BYUH, HPU in showdown

Star-Bulletin staff


Brigham Young-Hawaii and Hawaii Pacific University won their respective matches yesterday in the semifinals of the Pacific West Conference playoffs.

The wins set the stage for a showdown between the nation's top two NCAA Division II schools today at 5:30 p.m., HST at Seattle.

At stake is the conference championship. The outcome could affect the seeding for the NCAA West Regional, although it is believed that BYUH will host the tournament, that starts Nov. 11, regardless of the outcome.

To get to the final, Arlete Silva pounded 14 kills to lead the Seasiders (25-1) past Alaska Fairbanks, 15-0, 15-13, 15-1.

HPU also swept, as Gisele Rocha, Debbie Sant'Anna and Flavia Gabinio each put down 13 kills to lead the Sea Warriors past Seattle Pacific, 15-3, 15-12, 15-8.


Brigham Young-Hawaii has won in straight sets nearly every time out this season. It's no surprise, then, Info Boxthat the Seasiders would nearly sweep when it came time for conference honors.

Yesterday, the Pacific West Conference announced that Arlete Silva was again the choice for Player of the Year and that BYUH's Wilfred Navalta was the repeat pick for Coach of the Year.

Navalta has led the Seasiders to eight national titles in the past 13 seasons.

Hawaii Pacific's Flavia Gabinio, a junior hitter, was named Newcomer of the Year.

Hawaii dominated the all-conference choices. Rounding out the six-player first team were Juliana Lima and Vanessa Valansi of BYUH and Debbie Sant'Anna, Hai Yan Wang and Gabinio of HPU.


First Team

Player			School		Pos	Cl.
Arlete Silva		BYUH		MB	Sr.
Vanessa Valansi		BYUH		OH	Jr.
Juliana Lima		BYUH		S	Sr.
Debbie Sant’Anna	HPU		OH	Sr.
Hai Yan Wang		HPU		MB	Sr.
Flavia Gabinio		HPU		OH	Jr.

Second Team

Sabrina Bingham		Anchorage	MB	Sr.
Kristen Sullivan	Fairbanks	OH	Sr.
Kamilah Webb		Fairbanks	S	Sr.
Joan Lilio		Chaminade	OH	Sr.
Nia Tuitele		HPU		S	So.
Veronica Mitchell	W.N.Mexico	MB	Sr.
Heather Komernicky	W.N.Mexico	S	Sr.
Player of the Year: Arlete Silva, BYUH

Coach of the Year: Wilfred Navalta, BYUH

Newcomer of the Year: Flavia Gabinio, HPU

E-mail to Sports Editor

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]
[Stylebook] [Feedback]

© 1999 Honolulu Star-Bulletin