Lyau keeps kamaaina award


POSTED: Monday, December 14, 2009

Winning 15 of 16 previous kamaaina awards at the Honolulu Marathon for being the fastest local finisher has been a nice run for Jon Lyau. But after being inducted into the Honolulu Marathon's Hall of Fame on Thursday for his local dominance, Lyau admittedly felt extra pressure to run well in this year's race.

With a finishing time of 2 hours, 49 minutes, 14 seconds, the 45-year-old happily picked up yet another kamaaina award. The Honolulu resident now owns 16 of the last 17, including four in a row.

“;I kind of felt I had extra motivation to run better and push myself more this year,”; he said, referencing the pressure of his recent Hall of Fame induction.

Lyau conveniently lives in a high-rise apartment building near the Ala Moana starting line, and he has won every kamaaina award since 1993 except 2005, when first-year champion Duncan Macdonald temporarily took the title from him.

Sara Verga of Honolulu was the top female kamaaina, finishing in 3:13:59. Honolulu's Brian Laan, the first male resident finisher, was sixth overall, recording a 2:25:41 time. Jessica Tranchina, also of Honolulu, was the first female resident to finish, coming in at 3:12:30.


No rest for weary

There's no rest for the weary winner. Upon his return to Kenya today, Patrick Ivuti will rejoin his Kenyan army team, which is in the midst of training camp. Ivuti, who has served for 12 years, says he will run in a 12K (7.5-mile) cross country race Jan. 23.

Ivuti already is aiming to improve his personal-best time of 2:07:46, which he recorded in his first attempt at 26.2 miles in the 2005 Chicago Marathon. “;I'm thinking I can try to run one of the fast courses (next year), maybe like Rotterdam or Paris or somewhere,”; he said.


Wheelchair winners

Japan's Masazumi Soejima and Wakako Tsuchida took first place in the men's and women's wheelchair divisions. Soejima finished in 1 hour and 31 minutes, recording his fifth win in a row. Tsuchida won for the third time overall, and her winning time of 1:49:09 set a women's race record.


Kenya's Okayo no factor

Kenya's Margaret Okayo, who entered the race with the most impressive marathon resume but had not run a race of this distance since 2006, was never a factor. She was several minutes behind the leaders in the first 6 miles and eventually pulled out of the race just after the midway point.

Of the 23,469 people who registered for the marathon, 20,609 started the race and 20,321 finished, according to marathon spokesman Pat Bigold.