Hawaii Beat


POSTED: Tuesday, December 01, 2009

New start time for No. 3 Wahine

Hawaii kept the same ranking yesterday, but has a different time for its first-round match in the NCAA women's volleyball tournament Friday.

The Rainbow Wahine (28-2) remained at No. 3 in the AVCA Coaches Division I Top 25 for the eighth consecutive week. Hawaii is behind unanimous No. 1 Penn State (32-0) and No. 2 Texas (24-1).

The Wahine, seeded 12th in the tournament, face New Mexico (20-9) in the first match Friday in Los Angeles (3 p.m. Hawaii time). Hawaii originally had been scheduled to play the second match following the USC-Oklahoma contest, but the matches were switched yesterday to allow the host team to play in the second match.

UH gets big check from Anheuser-Busch

For the second year, Anheuser-Busch Sales of Hawaii will donate $100,000 to the UH athletics department through funds raised by its “;Get in the Game”; promotion.

The company donated 25 cents from every case of Budweiser products sold during the promotion, which ended yesterday, to UH athletics.

2 teams tied at Hualalai event

The teams of Andrew Feldmann/Will Coelho and Erik Johnson/Kirk Nelson are tied atop the leaderboard after the first round of the Aloha Section PGA Team Championship at Hualalai Golf Club on the Big Island.

The two teams have a one-shot lead after shooting 8-under 64s in the 36-hole four-ball stroke-play event.


Hawaii-Hilo's Smith earns PacWest honors

Hawaii-Hilo forward Justin Smith is the PacWest men's basketball player of the week.

Smith led the Vulcans to two wins last week, averaging 21.5 points and 8.5 rebounds.


388: Career wins for Florida State head football coach Bobby Bowden, who ESPN is reporting will announce his retirement today. Bowden is second to Penn State's Joe Paterno (393) on the career list with a bowl game ahead of him.

0: New York Yankees who had been named as Sports Illustrated's Sportsman of the Year before Derek Jeter's selection was announced yesterday. The award has been given out since 1954. Last year's winner was swimmer Michael Phelps.

21: Losses by the Notre Dame football team in the last three years under Charlie Weis, who was fired yesterday. The Fighting Irish had never lost that many games in a three-season span before. They had 16 wins in those three seasons.