Former Wahine honored by NCAA


POSTED: Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Former Hawaii swimmer Maureen O'Toole-Purcell was one of six former athletes to win the NCAA Silver Anniversary Award yesterday.

Gregg Carr of Auburn, Jack Del Rio of USC, Doug Flutie of Boston College, Jackie Joyner-Kersee of UCLA and Deb Richard of Florida also won the award yesterday.

The award goes to distinguished former student-athletes on the 25th anniversary of their college careers.

O'Toole-Purcell was one of the top water polo players in the United States for Hawaii and was a three-time All American in swimming.

She won a silver medal in the 2000 Olympics and has competed with the U.S. women's water polo team for 22 years. She also coached at California, guiding him to a 125-14 mark over four years.