Business briefs


POSTED: Thursday, November 19, 2009

Pearlridge Center expands offerings

Pearlridge Center has opened three new retail stores and a restaurant in time for the holiday shopping rush.

Filling the former Rave location at Pearlridge Downtown is Calendar Club, which opened Nov. 1. It is a temporary holiday store featuring calendars and 2010 merchandise.

At the same time, My Pillow Pets opened on the first level of Pearlridge Uptown near the American Savings Bank. The kiosk features plush chenille pillow animals.

Blazin' Steaks opened Nov. 12 on the third level of Pearlridge Downtown. The eatery is best known for its $6 grilled steak, fish, chicken and shrimp plates.

Santa's Pen opened Nov. 13 on the second level of Pearlridge Downtown in the former Hobby Company space. The store features personalized Christmas ornaments and other gifts, including holiday stockings, island-style ornaments and other home accessories.


Territorial execs sign 3-year deals

Territorial Savings Bank's parent has entered into three-year employment agreements with three of its senior executives, according to a regulatory filing yesterday with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

Allan Kitagawa, chairman, president and chief executive officer of Territorial Bancorp Inc., will receive an initial base salary of $801,954. Vernon Hirata, vice chairman, co-chief operating officer, general counsel and corporate secretary, will get $282,555. And Ralph Nakatsuka, vice chairman and co-chief operating officer, also will receive $282,555.

The employment agreements provide for participation in employee benefit plans and programs maintained for the benefit of senior management personnel, including discretionary bonuses, participation in stock-based benefit plans, and certain fringe benefits applicable to executive employees, including the use of an automobile and cell phone.


Probe TV deal further, FCC is urged

Two more members of Congress have urged the Federal Communications Commission to examine possible harm to the public in light of increasing media concentration — such as in the shared services agreement between KGMB-TV, KHNL-TV and KFVE-TV.

U.S. Sens. John Kerry and Chuck Grassley, in a Nov. 2 letter to the FCC, noted that “;as a result of consolidation, local evening newscasts are now presented on competing network affiliates by the exact same news staff and anchor team in markets around the country, from Honolulu to Cedar Rapids to Baltimore.”;

They urged the commission to “;consider potential courses of action, should the problem need to be addressed.”;


Airgas breaks ground on Kapolei site

Airgas Inc. marked the groundbreaking yesterday of its new 7,000-square-foot cylinder fill plant, warehouse and distribution center in Kapolei. The facility will be operated by Airgas West, one of 12 regional companies in Airgas' nationwide distribution business. Airgas is the largest U.S. distributor of industrial, medical and specialty gases, as well as welding, safety and related products.



; The Gas Co. has announced management appointments for the following:

» Michael P. LaPorte to vice president-Oahu Division from vice president and controller. He has 24 years in the gas industry and joined the Gas Co. in 1985, working in the petroleum operation.

» Mustafa “;Moose”; Demirbag to general manager-Maui, including oversight of gas operations for Molokai and Lanai, from Maui County branch manager. He joined the company as an operations superintendent in 1994.

» Marvin V. Min to general manager-Hawaii from branch manager-East Hawaii. He joined the company in 1985 as a gas and alternative-energy sales representative specializing in solar water heating systems for the East Hawaii Region, including Hilo, Honokaa and Milolii.

» Glenn H. Takenouchi to general manager-Kauai from Kauai branch manager since 1998. His experience includes engineering supervisor with Kauai Electric and processing engineer with AMFAC Sugar on Kauai.


The Board of Akaku: Maui Community Television has announced the appointment of Tina Lia and Howard Selnick to fill the two vacant producer's seats. They received the most votes from the board members and will serve a three-year term.