Hawaii Beat


POSTED: Wednesday, November 11, 2009

2 earn national racquetball titles

Joe Lee of Mililani and Wahiawa's Jimmy Lowe won national championships in their respective divisions at last weekend's 14th U.S. Open Racquetball Championships in Memphis, Tenn.

The top-seeded Lee defeated third-seeded Mike Robinson of Texas 15-5, 15-3 in the final of the men's open 55, Lee's fourth consecutive title.

Lowe, the top seed in the men's open 45, rallied past three-time defending champion Scott Cullins of Georgia, 12-15, 15-7, 15-2 in the final.

Diver De Lima honored by WAC

Hawaii women's diver Stephanie De Lima was named the Verizon Wireless Western Athletic Conference diver of the week yesterday.

De Lima, a junior from Montreal, was second in the 1-meter springboard, third on the platform and fourth in the 3-meter springboard at the USC Trojan Diving Invitational

$1 million purse for Triple Crown

This year's Vans Triple Crown of Surfing competition will award a record total purse of $1 million.

The Triple Crown-Triple Threat will award $50,000 bonuses to the men's Triple Crown series winner, the Billabong Pipeline Masters winner and the ASP men's world champion, and a $25,000 bonus to the women's Triple Crown winner.

The Triple Crown begins its holding period tomorrow and runs through Dec. 20 on the North Shore. The first events are the Reef Hawaiian Pro for men and Vans Hawaiian Pro for women at Haleiwa.

Final honors to goalkeepers

The last weekly honors in PacWest men's and women's soccer went to goalkeepers yesterday.

Selected were Hawaii Pacific senior Matt Terry and Brigham Young-Hawaii junior Becky Ploeger.

Terry gave up two goals with six saves as the Sea Warriors went 3-0 last week.

Ploeger recorded two shutouts and allowed one goal with eight saves in 270 minutes as the Seasiders went 3-0 last week.


Years of broadcasting Los Angeles Dodgers baseball games for 81-year-old Vin Scully, who said he will continue on the job at least through 2010.

Fine levied by NBA on Orlando Magic center Dwight Howard for publicly criticizing officials on his blog.
Million won by 21-year-old Joe Cada, the youngest champion in World Series of Poker history.

Million paid by Northern Farm of Japan for 2002 Horse of the Year Azeri in the opening session of the Keeneland Breeding Stock Sale.