Season Preview


POSTED: Thursday, August 20, 2009

Thank you ... for choosing the Rainbow Wahine Datebook to help you plan for the 2009 Hawaii volleyball season. The Honolulu Star-Bulletin is committed to producing a quality annual guide, one that gives a unique view of the team and opponents.

This year marks the 30th anniversary of the Wahine's first national title, the 1979 AIAW championship won in the program's sixth season of collegiate competition.

While we can't give you the exact date to circle, Hawaii coach Dave Shoji should become just the second in Division I women's volleyball to reach 1,000 victories well before his Dec. 4 birthday.

Entering his 35th season in Manoa, Shoji needs 16 wins to join UCLA's Andy Banachowski in the elite club.

Shoji's milestone is expected to be reached during the middle of the Western Athletic Conference campaign, one in which Hawaii is the overwhelming favorite to win its 14th consecutive WAC crown.

And don't forget to augment your Datebook with the invaluable companion blog: UH Sports Extra Volleyball by Cindy Luis. blogs.starbulletin.com/uhsportsextra



FL MORRIS / .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)


Players identified by their uniform numbers, below.





                LAST SCHOOL
1. Stephanie FerrellLS/RS6-1So.Los Angeles/Locke HS
2. Amber KaufmanM/RS6-0Sr.San Jose, Calif./Branham HS
3. Kristiana TuanigaM6-2Fr.Carson, Calif./Carson HS
4. Brittany HewittM6-4Fr.Eagle, Idaho/Eagle HS
5. Kanani DanielsonLS5-11So.Ewa Beach/Kamehameha
6. Corinne CascioppoRS6-3So.Temecula, Calif./Mesa State
7. Elizabeth Ka'aihueL5-8Jr.Kailua/Punahou
8. Alex GriffithsL5-6Jr.Seal Beach, Calif./Vanguard
9. Alexis ForsytheM6-4So.Lake Elsinore, Calif./Houston Baptist
10. Stephanie BrandtS5-9Sr.Irvine, Calif. /UC Santa Barbara
11. Dani MafuaS5-10Jr.Kapolei/Mid-Pacific Institute
12. Emily MaedaL5-6Fr.Honolulu/Roosevelt
13. Aneli Cubi-OtineruLS/RS5-11Sr.Haleiwa/Southern Idaho
14. Paige MitchellM6-1Fr.Oxnard, Calif./Thousand Oaks HS
15. Kristina KamL5-7Fr.Honolulu/Punahou
16. Catherine FowlerM/Opp6-1Sr.Conway, Ark./Arkansas
17. Alexis RobinsL5-6Jr.Honolulu/Portland
18. Jayme LeeL5-2Sr.Aiea/Hawaii Baptist Academy








        » Head: Dave Shoji (UCSB 1969) 35th season

        » Associate: Kari Ambrozich (Hawaii 1996) 13th season

        » Associate: Mike Sealy (UCLA 1993) 4th season

        » Volunteer: Gabriel Maunupau (Hawaii 2010) 1st season

        » Manager: Hedder Ilustre (Hawaii 2003) 2nd season
        » Equipment: Jimbo Buccella (Massasoit 1985) 13th season


        » Manager: Hedder Ilustre (Hawaii 2003) 2nd season
        » Equipment: Jimbo Buccella (Massasoit 1985) 13th season




        » Renae Shigemura (Hawaii 1999) 8th season


        Home Court

        Stan Sheriff Center (10,300)

        » Attendance: Hawaii has led the country every year since 1995.

        » Record: 265-30

        » Total: 2,063,012

        » Manager: Rich Sheriff (16th season)

        » Tickets: 944-BOWS (2697) www.etickethawaii.com

Western Athletic Conference
        Hawaii (14th season)
        » Regular season: 186-4 (13 titles) » WAC tournament: 31-2 (9 titles) » Player of the Year: 13 » Freshman of the Year: 6 » WAC tournament MVP: 9






        Coach Dave Shoji has compiled a 984-173-1 -record in 34 seasons with the Rainbow Wahine:




1975162.889AIAW, runner-up
1976145.737AIAW, third
1977225.815AIAW, runner-up
1978*2810.731AIAW, third
1979365.878AIAW, champion
19803410.773AIAW, third
1981372.949NCAA, regional final
1982331.971NCAA, champion
1983342.944NCAA, champion
19843311.750NCAA, 1st round
19852813.683NCAA, regional semifinal
1986317.816NCAA, regional final
1987372.949NCAA, champion
1988333.917NCAA, runner-up
1989293.906NCAA, regional final
1990286.824NCAA, regional semifinal
1991265.839NCAA, regional final
19921512.556No postseason
19931911.633NCAA, regional final
1994255.833NCAA, regional semifinal
1995311.969NCAA, regional final
1996353.921NCAA, runner-up
1997258.768NCAA, 1st round
1998323.914NCAA, regional final
1999292.935NCAA, regional semifinal
2000312.939NCAA, third
2001296.829NCAA, regional semifinal
2002342.944NCAA, third
2003362.947NCAA, third
2004301.968NCAA, regional semifinal
2005277.794NCAA, regional semifinal
2006296.829NCAA, regional final
2007276.818NCAA, 2nd round
2008314.886NCAA, regional final


        * Includes one tie






        WRITER | Cindy Luis

        PAGE DESIGNERS | Charlene Robinson, Michael Rovner

        COVER DESIGN | Bryant Fukutomi

        GRAPHIC ARTIST | Kip Aoki

        SPORTS EDITOR | Paul Arnett

        COPY EDITOR | Sjarif Goldstein

        EDITOR | Frank Bridgewater

        PRESIDENT & PUBLISHER | Dennis Francis

Wahine Datebook is published by the Honolulu Star-Bulletin, which is owned by Oahu Publications Inc. at 7 Waterfront Plaza, Suite 210, 500 Ala Moana Blvd., Honolulu, HI 96813. Telephone: (808) 529-4747. Copyright 2009. Subscription queries: For the Star-Bulletin, call Customer Service at (808) 529-4848. You can also use our Web site: www.starbulletin.com