9 Oahu students earn merit awards


POSTED: Sunday, August 16, 2009

Nine Oahu students are in the last group of 2,000 National Merit Scholar winners to be announced for 2009.

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. said these students join more than 2,800 recipients of college-sponsored awards who were named in a second round in late May. College-sponsored awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study.

The total number of 2009 National Merit Scholars is about 8,300, a release said.

From Iolani School are Jueun Jang, who will study medicine at the University of Southern California; Qingyun Liao, biological research, Washington University in St. Louis; Zoe M. Petticord, art, University of Chicago; Samantha M. Tasaki, unspecified major, Santa Clara University; and Danielle M. Wilson, physics, Whitman College.

Punahou graduates include Jessica E. Yoshimi, who will study biomedical engineering at Boston University; and Kelsey G. Ezer, who will attend the University of Southern California.

Mid-Pacific Institute graduate Anne Saint Georges will go into veterinary medicine at Pomona College; and Juliana G. Besenbruch of Maryknoll High School, will study elementary education at Carleton College.