Choosing the Centurions wasn't easy


POSTED: Wednesday, June 17, 2009

“;This was ... daunting.”;

Those were the words of Star-Bulletin sportswriter Billy Hull as he turned in his ranking of the 100 greatest football players in University of Hawaii history. It was a tough job for all who voted, and there's no way we could have put this together without the input of many people who covered, coached and played UH football.

The list of voters and advisers follows; we thank them all, including the ones who chose not to be acknowledged: Randy Cadiente, Bobby Curran, Rob DeMello, Billy Hull, Eddie Inouye, June Jones, Jason Kaneshiro, Robert Kekaula, Jim Leahey, Kanoa Leahey, George Lumpkin, Brian McInnis, Greg McMackin, Lyle Nelson, Larry Price, Kalani Simpson, Dick Tomey, John Veneri, Bob Wagner, Ben Wood.

The head coaches listed all either provided comments or consulted in other ways; they chose not to vote, although most did provide No. 1 choices, which we will reveal later. We also conferred with several former players from different eras who chose to not be acknowledged.

Thank these people for what you like, blame me for what you consider wrong. They generously provided their time and expertise—and, I repeat, the coaches did not vote, but did provide valuable insights.

Derek Inouchi and his staff at the UH Media Relations department aided us with photos. Many other people helped us with contact information, and of course we thank the players and those close to them who gave us their time for interviews.

Our sports editor, Paul Arnett, did what winning coaches do: He put us in a position to succeed. Assistant sports editor Sjarif Goldstein coordinated logistics and sports copy editor Jerry Campany aided in research. Kip Aoki designed the cards and other graphic logos, and Mike Rovner conceived the overall design concept.