Te'o headlines new Hall of Honor class


POSTED: Monday, May 18, 2009

The awards keep coming for Punahou football standout Manti Te'o.





        The Class of 2009 out of a field of roughly 100 applicants for the prestigious recognition

» Breland Almadova, 'Iolani


» Tani Costa, Kalani


» Jray Galeai, Kahuku


» Taylor Ibera, Farrington


» Bryce Jenkins, Leilehua


» Kristin Lim, Punahou


» Aisha Price, Punahou


» Kela Marciel, 'Iolani


» Bailey Massenburg, King Kekaulike


» Manti Te'o, Punahou


» Meleana Shim, Kamehameha


» Christel Simms, Punahou




The Notre Dame-bound senior was elected as one of 12 inductees to the Hawaii Hall of Honor yesterday, collecting the highest point total. The dozen seniors were selected after two days of voting that pared down a field of roughly 100 applicants for the prestigious honor.

Joining Te'o in the Hall's Class of 2009 (in alphabetical order):

» Breland Almadova, 'Iolani: The UH recruit hit .461 with nine homers during the Interscholastic League of Honolulu baseball season and was a valuable closer on the mound. He posted four saves with a 2-0 record and an 0.39 ERA. The 6-foot-1 athlete turned out for football as a senior and was voted to the Star-Bulletin All-State second team as a safety.

» Tani Costa, Kalani: The girls soccer All-State forward has already made an impact on a national level. Costa, who was voted to the Star-Bulletin All-State team despite missing part of the season with an injury, will play at Penn State.

» Jray Galeai, Kahuku: The All-State safety was also a two-time Star-Bulletin Fab 15/All-State guard, helping the Red Raiders reach the boys basketball state final this year. Galeai will play football at BYU.

» Taylor Ibera, Farrington: She's the latest in a long line of wrestling/judo gold medalists from Kalihi. Ibera recently repeated as wrestling champion at 98 pounds and won four state judo titles.

» Bryce Jenkins, Leilehua: The three-time state cross country champion capped his prep career by winning the 3,000-meter run at the state meet on Saturday at Keaau. As a sophomore, Jenkins led Leilehua to its first cross country team title. He will run at Idaho State.

» Kristin Lim, Punahou: She completed her illustrious high school tennis career with another singles title win last week. Lim never lost a match in singles or doubles play. She will play at Cornell.

» Aisha Price, Punahou: Price helped Punahou capture a state title in soccer with her mighty throw-in skills, but is also a key part of the Buffanblu's water polo dynasty. With Price as one of their leading scorers, the Buffanblu won their second state title in a row. She will play for Harvard.

» Kela Marciel, 'Iolani: The versatile speedster gave the Raiders a playmaker at quarterback, then moved to cornerback—earning Star-Bulletin All-State first-team honors—to help 'Iolani win another Division II state crown. He also was among the best defensive players in basketball and was an infielder for the baseball team. He will play football at Weber State.

» Bailey Massenburg, King Kekaulike: For a second year in a row, she won the 1,500- and 800-meter races at the state track and field championships. Massenburg will run at Point Loma Nazarene University.

» Meleana Shim, Kamehameha: The Star-Bulletin girls soccer player of the year has been an impact player since her freshman season. She will play at Santa Clara.

» Christel Simms, Punahou: The state's dominant swimmer, she also represented the Philippines in the recent Olympics. She will swim for Brown University.

The Hall of Honor banquet will be held June 7 at the Sheraton Waikiki.

The $2,000 scholarship for each inductee will not be presented this year due to economic conditions, according to Hawaii High School Athletic Association executive director Keith Amemiya.