Group lauds communicators


POSTED: Friday, May 08, 2009

The Hawaii Chapter of the International Association of Business Communicators honored achievement in internal and external business communications during 2008 at its annual Ilima Awards ceremony last night at the Ala Moana Hotel.

IABC-Hawaii introduced this year the Kau i ka Hano Award, a new best-in-show award, to be presented to the entry receiving the highest score from the judges, who came from four mainland IABC chapters.

The first best-of-show winner was Olomana Marketing for its entry titled “;'Olelo Community Television Report,”; in the External Publication category.

Olomana's work for the Hawaii Youth Symphony also won an award of excellence in the Brand Communication category. Besides Olomana Marketing, seven entrants won eight other Ilima Awards of excellence.

They were Jennifer Pang of Pang Communications; Barbra Pleadwell of Hastings and Pleadwell: A Communications Company; Shawn Nakamoto of Kamehameha Schools; Patrick Williams of the Rapid Transit Division of the City & County of Honolulu; Tess Staadecker of Becker Communications; Carlyn Tani of Punahou School; and Lori Abe of Anthology Marketing Group, who won two.

Ilima Awards of merit were presented to two dozen winners in multiple categories.

On the Net:

» http://www.iabchawaii.com

And the IABC 2009 Ilima award winners are ...


1. Jennifer Pang of Pang Communications, for Publication Design, Distinguished Citizen Award Dinner Invitation/Program

2. Barbra Pleadwell of Hastings and Pleadwell: A Communications Company, for Special Print Communication, Coalition for a Tobacco-Free Hawaii brochure

3. Shawn Nakamoto of Kamehameha Schools, for External Video titled “;Huaka'i 'Aina Ho'oilina”;

4. Patrick Williams of the Rapid Transit Division of the City & County of Honolulu, for Video/Multimedia/Electronic Programs, for “;Rapid Transit Division Project DVD”;

5. Lori Abe of Anthology Marketing Group for Marketing Communication, for TV Commercial, “;Hawaii Superferry Television Testimonial Ad”;

6. Lori Abe of Anthology Marketing Group, for Marketing Communication Radio Spot, “;Hawaii Superferry Radio Testimonial Ad”;

7. Alan Tang of Olomana Marketing, External Ongoing Program, for “;Hawaii Youth Symphony Brand Communication”;

8. Tess Staadecker of Becker Communications, for External One-Time Program for “;Green Ships: A Green Marine Highway Initiative”;

9. Carlyn Tani of Punahou School, for External Publication, for “;Punahou Bulletin”;


Total awards by company

* Becker Communications (4)

* Pang Communications (4)

* Bennet Group (3)

* McNeil Wilson Communications (3)

* Anthology Marketing Group (2)

* HMSA (2)

* Schweitzer Consulting (2)

* Stryker Weiner & Yokota Public Relations (2)

* Castle Medical Center (1)

* Hastings & Pleadwell: A Communications Company (1)

* HECO (1)

* Kaiser Permanente Hawaii (1)

* Outrigger Enterprises Group (1)

* Punahou School (1)