Hawaii Beat


POSTED: Wednesday, May 06, 2009

Muramaru to get Leahey award

Mid-Pacific Institute baseball coach Dunn Muramaru will be the recipient of the annual Chuck Leahey Memorial Award.

The award is presented annually to a person who has made major lifetime contributions to the game of baseball in the state of Hawaii. It is named for the late sportscaster Chuck Leahey, father and grandfather of sportscasters Jim and Kanoa Leahey.

Muramaru will receive the award prior to UH's second-to-last game of the regular season, May 16 at Les Murakami Stadium against Utah Valley State.

Muramaru has been a coach at Kalani and Mid-Pac for more than 30 years. His teams have been to nine state championship games, winning four.

Dozens of his players have gone on to the college and pro ranks, including current Rainbows Jayson Kramer, Russell Doi and Easton Torigoe.

By the Numbers

3: RBIs from Hawaii's Kolten Wong as the Rainbows snapped a five-game losing streak with a 10-3 win over Saint Mary's.

4: Hits by Maui native Shane Victorino—including a home run and three RBIs—in the Phillies' 10-7 win over St. Louis.


Manago, Bailey get baseball awards

Hawaii-Hilo sophomore outfielder Keoni Manago has been chosen the 2009 PacWest player of the year.

Dixie State senior Tyson Bailey was named pitcher of the year. His coach, Mike Littlewood, was named coach of the year after leading the Red Storm to a 30-19 overall record and 15-9 conference mark.

Manago was second in the league with a .435 batting average and led the league in doubles with 15 and was successful on all 12 stolen-base attempts.

Bailey has a 2.35 ERA and is 6-1 with 58 strikeouts in 57.1 innings.

Hawaii Pacific outfielder Blake Amaral was named the league's newcomer of the year and freshman of the year.

Vulcans in seventh in golf regional

Sonoma State held the team lead, but Hawaii-Hilo improved its position in the second of three rounds at its NCAA Division II men's golf regional. The Vulcans climbed to seventh at the central/west regional in Lincoln, Neb., and the top five advance to the nationals.

But Hilo has a lot of ground to make up today; it trails fifth-place Cal State San Bernardino by 14 strokes.

Zady Ari shot 1-over 72 to pace the UH-Hilo contingent yesterday.

Sonoma State's Jarin Todd is at 9-under 133 to lead the tournament.

Chaminade honors top athletes

Golfer Layne Morita and volleyball player Trina Kauliakamoa were announced as Chaminade's male and female athletes of the year yesterday.

Sean Wilson was presented with the Silversword Award, which goes to the student-athlete exemplifying the school's “;philosophy and teachings of serving, giving, thoughtfulness and doing for others.”;