Galeai chosen state's best defender


POSTED: Tuesday, April 14, 2009

On their way to honors in the Star-Bulletin Boys Basketball All-State/Fab 15 team, some of the best players gained recognition from coaches and media for their blue-collar work.




Locked down

        Perimeter players dominated voting for the Star-Bulletin's boy's prep basketball all-defensive team:

» 1. Jray Galeai, Kahuku guard
        » 2. Pi'i Minns, Kamehameha guard
        » 3. Marcus Holyfield, Mid-Pacific guard
        » 4. Chaz Bajet, Kamehameha guard
        » 5. David Taulung, Kaimuki guard


Player of the year Pi'i Minns of Kamehameha was second in the all-defensive team voting. Marcus Holyfield of Mid-Pacific was third. Minns, a lanky 6-foot-3, has a frame and agility reminiscent of former Los Angeles Laker Michael Cooper. Holyfield, another defender who can cover any position, beefed up before the season and became one of the top rebounders (11.5 per game) in the state.

The top vote-getter for defensive honors, though, was a guard. Kahuku senior Jray Galeai, a 6-foot senior, led the voting thanks to his prowess — and thievery — with uber-quick hands and feet. Galeai's offensive skills were never doubted — he was fifth in the Fab 15 voting.

However, he was relentless and pesky on defense — traits that come in handy on the football field. Galeai signed to play football at BYU, where he will play cornerback.

The No. 4 vote-getter for defensive honors was Kamehameha guard Chaz Bajet, arguably the best one-on-one, on-ball defender statewide. His defensive work, in fact, took a big load off the shoulders of Minns, who defended fewer point guards this season.

Another outstanding on-ball defender, David Taulung of Kaimuki, was fifth in the voting.

Another Kamehameha standout, Auwae DeRego, was sixth in the all-defensive voting. Other recognized defenders, in order of point count, were: Christian Feagai (Kahuku), Kauila Miller (Kailua), Richard Preza Haynes (Kalaheo), Dakota Allen (Waiakea), Micah Christenson (Kamehameha), Kainoa Chu ('Iolani), Joseph Akaka (Molokai) and Desmond Tautofi (Kaimuki).