Shining Stars


POSTED: Wednesday, April 01, 2009

Punahou wins Science Bowl

Five Punahou School students won the seventh annual Hawaii Regional competition for the National Ocean Science Bowl.

They will represent Hawaii in the finals in Washington, D.C. Team members include Ian Schools, Eric Liaw, Calder Atta, Jordan Kaneshige and Karl Heyer, and coach Dave Strang. Kealakehe High School took second place, with Maui High School's Team A placing third.


Aqua Hotels & Resorts announced its management team for the Aqua Waikiki Tides, with Lynette Eastman as area general manager.

She will oversee the financial performance of the Aqua Waikiki Wave and Aqua Waikiki Tides hotels: Paul Kalei Lyman, hotel manager; Michael Singh, guest services manager; Evelyn Shiroma, sales manager.


The Hawaii Kai Chamber of Commerce announced its board of directors: Tim O'Leary, president; Nicholas Abbott, vice president; Denise Clark, director; Zahava Czara, director; Milton Drageset, director; Lolly Elliott, secretary; Delorese Gregoire, director; Chintana Griffin, director; Leo Hura, director; Howard Richmond, director; Tyler Roukema, director; Noble Turner, director; Marlenea Salmu, treasurer; and Lisa van den Heuvel, director.


Sennet Capital announced two appointments to its board of directors. Larry Rodriguez is the former managing partner of the Honolulu office of Ernst & Young and has served on the boards of the Hawaii Humane Society, Easter Seals and the American Red Cross. Robert Clarke was previously chairman, president and chief executive officer of Hawaiian Electric Industries and serves as chairman of the Advisory Board for the College of Business Administration of the University of Hawaii at Manoa.