Kahuku beats Kalaheo, earns a date with Kaimuki in title game


POSTED: Thursday, February 26, 2009

In Kahuku coach Hiram Akina's mind, his team's loss to Kaimuki took all the pressure off the previously unbeaten Red Raiders.

On their home floor, the No. 4 Raiders transferred all the pressure to No. 7 Kalaheo, and profited off steals in the open court again and again for a 56-43 victory on their home court. Now, Kahuku gets a rematch with the Bulldogs in the new double-elimination format, and will have to beat Kaimuki twice to take the Oahu Interscholastic Association Red Conference title, starting today at McKinley.

“;When they beat us, that's the best thing that happened to us,”; Akina said. “;The pressure ... the kids couldn't handle it. (Tonight, 17 forced turnovers) really got us the momentum.”;

In contrast, Kahuku took relatively good care of the ball (nine turnovers) and spread around its offense, using the athletic drives of Jray Galeai (team-high 15 points), the 3-point shooting of Irwin Ah-Hoy and Nehoa Akina, and the post play of Shairone Thompson and Kona Schwenke.

During the final 5 minutes, Kahuku closed the game out on an 8-0 run fueled by three straight Mustangs turnovers. Thompson capped it off with a slash to the basket for a hoop for the final score with a minute left. Kalaheo coach Chico Furtado threw in the towel and inserted his reserves; Kalaheo has already qualified for the state tournament.

At Kahuku

Kahuku (14-1)13201310-56
Kalaheo (12-6)1115125-43

KAHUKU-Jray Galeai 15, Nehoa Akina 12, Kona Schwenke 5, Irwin Ah Hoy 8, Auloloa Tonga 4, Shairone Thompson 8, Mikeli Damuni 2, Sage Kaka 0, Kohl Nauahi 0, Christian Feagai 2, Mua Malufau 0, Michael Tyau 0.

KALAHEO-Steve Joseph 0, Richard Preza Haynes 11, Christian Kepa 14, Aaron Fernandez 10, Matt Gasparine-Young 8, Kona Makaula 0, Carlos Craig 0, Shane Hipa 0, Kevin Leong 0, Shawn Hipa 0, Zach Lovelace 0, John Bascuk 0, Dwayne Mitchell 0.

3-point goals-Kahuku 5 (Akina 2, Ah Hoy 2, Galeai), Kalaheo 6 (Preza Haynes 3, Fernandez 2, Kepa).

Radford 66, Mililani 60

Derrell Lee was everywhere on the court. More than anywhere else, though, he found his way to his favorite spot - the free-throw line.

Lee converted 16 of 23 attempts from the charity stripe to carry Radford past Mililani, 66-60, in the OIA Red tournament last night at Kahuku.

The Rams (11-5) locked up the OIA's fifth and final berth in the HHSAA Division I state tournament by ending the Trojans' season.

Lee was key in that, as he made sure he was in the right place all the time after halftime, whether it was grabbing an offensive rebound and getting fouled or evading a Trojans press at midcourt. He scored 20 of his 22 points after intermission and made 11 of 12 during one stretch to keep Mililani (11-5) at bay.

“;We just played together - that's what Coach (Wayne Keyes) emphasized. That's how we do,”; said Lee, a 6-foot-1 senior swingman. “;Coach always emphasizes our free throws, making them in the clutch. We're excited, we made states, finally.”;

At Kahuku

Radford (11-5)18121917-66
Mililani (11-5)7171620-60

RADFORD-Joash Pangilinan 0, Derrell Lee 22, Tony Reid 6, Quentin Kimura 16, Aldrin Valdez 13, Jaenne Fontenot 5, Jared Victorino 4, Marcus Malepeai 0.

MILILANI-Brandon Fujinaga 2, Reginald Griffin 16, Daniel Paglinawan 2, Nick Demusis 15, Makana Keleimamahu 4, Bokodaka Keto 10, Ed Ocampo 9, Nick Kunz 0, Dalaunte Stevenson 2, Andrew Longboy 0, Joe McGlamery 0.

3-point goals-Radford 5 (Kimura 3, Valdez, Fontenot), Mililani 4 (Griffin 3, Ocampo).

OIA White

Kailua 64, Roosevelt 32

Kauila Miller drained two from behind the arc and finished with a game-high 16 points to lead the Cougars over the Rough RIders.

Kailua advances to play Castle in today's OIA White championship game.

Roosevelt (12-5)68711 -32
Kailua (12-2)16171516-64

ROOSEVELT-Bobby Chun 5, Clint Washington 0, Matthew Moe 8, Brandon Mitchell 0, Chase Yogi 0, Reid Oshiro 2, Asten Koki 2, Kainoa Gaspar 7, Chaz Francisco 4, Brendan Nakatani 2, Jonathan Delos Santos 2.

KAILUA-Chevy Mikaele 0, Calen Friel 1, Rhys Nakakura 5, Kauila Miller 16, Dylan Farias 10, Kenny Ellis 4, Corey Lau 2, Luis Valenzuela 1, Ali'i Kaiama 6, Tesi Fisilau 4, Jordan Decorte 15.

3-point goals-Roosevelt 2 (Gaspar, Chun), Kailua 4 (Miller 2, Nakakura, Farias).