Shining stars


POSTED: Monday, February 23, 2009

Isle teachers vie for math award

Four Hawaii public school teachers have been chosen as state finalists for the 2008 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. The science finalists are Marlene Fu of Nanaikapono Elementary, Hazel Wachi of Kekaha Elementary and Liane Tanigawa of Pearl Ridge Elementary. Seanyelle Yagi from Kaewai Elementary is the math finalist. Public and private school teachers are eligible for the annual contest. A national committee of scientists, mathematicians and educators will select approximately 100 teachers nationwide for the White House award. Each winner receives a $10,000 grant and a trip to Washington, D.C., in the spring.


Island Insurance Co., through its namesake foundation, has provided $50,000 to Farrington High School in matching funds for the first Project EAST (Environmental and Spatial Technology) program on Oahu. About 90 students will take part in the program, which teaches them to apply science and technology to service projects that benefit the community. Students at 10 schools on the neighbor islands have been involved in Project EAST for more than a year.


The Bank of Hawaii Charitable Foundation has pledged $75,000 to Child and Family Service to help build a new emergency shelter and transitional housing facility. The shelter would be used for families victimized by domestic violence in the Leeward area.


Hawaiian Electric Co., Maui Electric Co. and Hawaii Electric Light Co. donated a total of $15,000 to the American Lung Association of Hawaii's Open Airways for Schools Plus Parents program. The funds go toward the education of parents and school personnel to support students with asthma in their management of the disease at home.


”;Shining Stars”; runs Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.