Chaminade awards go to Ryan, Poole-Street, Wilks


POSTED: Friday, February 13, 2009

Chaminade University's 2009 Founders Day Awards went to Kapono Ryan, director of communications, the Marianist Award; Dr. Barbara Poole-Street, professor and interim dean of professional studies, the Chaminade Award; and LaPria Wilks, a senior, the Founders Award.

Haining Yang of the Cancer Research Center of Hawaii received two grants totaling $220,000. Yang was one of five recipients of a two-year $100,000 grant from the Mesothelioma Applied Research Foundation. Yang also received and a two-year $120,000 award from the Hawaii Community Foundation's Leahi Fund.

The American Society for Training and Development Hawaii chapter announced its board of directors for 2009: Ken Kiyohara, president; Lee Ann Del Carpio, president-elect; Nelwyn Yee, past president; Lorna Festa, vice president of professional development; Staci Yoshihara, vice president of finance; Dina Tsuda, vice president of records; Wendy Nakamura, vice president of events; Greg Chilson, vice president of public relations; Shirley Tsukano, vice president of communications; Kevin Imai, vice president of information technology; Therese Dickerson, vice president of membership; and Cliff Clarke, board adviser.


”;Shining Stars”; runs Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.