Isle teens vie to be Presidential Scholars


POSTED: Saturday, February 07, 2009

Forty-two Hawaii high school students are among 3,000 candidates in the 2009 Presidential Scholars Program.

The candidates were selected from nearly 2.8 million students expected to graduated from U.S. high schools in 2009.

The 3,000 seniors were picked for their scores on the College Board SAT or the ACT Assessment, as well as for their performance on essays, involvement in activities, school recommendations and transcripts.

A panel of educators will choose 500 semifinalists in early April.

The U.S. Department of Education will announce winners in May and invite them to Washington, D.C., in June to be recognized and participate in events with their elected representatives, educators and others.





        'Iolani School
Kristelle K. Aisaka
Alexa J. Hettwer
Amy M. Ko
Jeffery T. Kwock
Zoe M. Petticord
Jessica Lynn S. Saylors
Robert J. Tamai
Sean J. Yancey
Amelia K. Linsky
Celia Y. Ou

  Mililani High
Daniel L. Lee
Lucia Mocz


  Moanalua High
Edward J. Ruan


  Hilo High
Stephen E. Bond


Kamehameha Secondary School
Keoni H. Correa


  Hawaii Preparatory Academy
Eli D. Hart


  King Kekaulike High
Jake R. Fish




Punahou School
Bertram L. Booker
Dacia S. Boyce
Allison Chen
Sophia Y. Chen
Darryl Cheng
Christopher C. Chiu
Vivian Eng
Christopher T. Han
Andrew Hirai
Susan S. Hirai
William A. Kearns
Erica B. Lee
Nicholas H. Schaefer
Elise L. Timtim
Alex H. Wachi
Anna Walden
Theresa M. Richmond
Jeffrey O. Hamada
Christopher K. Nagashima

  School year abroad
Christopher L. Medeiros


  Schools not listed
Jackelyn A. McMillan
Presley L. Pawn
Kevin Tanaka
Nerissa G. Hoglen
Michaela F. Lewis