Machida TKOs fellow Brazilian Silva in co-main event


POSTED: Sunday, February 01, 2009

LAS VEGAS » Lyoto Machida made it perfectly clear he's the man to challenge Rashad Evans for the UFC light heavyweight title.




UFC 94

        MGM Grand Garden Arena, Las Vegas

» Georges St-Pierre def. B.J. Penn by TKO (doctor's stoppage) at 5:00 of Round 4 to retain welterweight title.


» 205: Lyoto Machida def. Thiago Silva by TKO at 4:59 of Round 1.


» 205: Jon Jones def. Stephan Bonner by unanimous decision


» 170: Karo Parisyan def. Dong Hyun Kim by split decision


» 155: Clay Guida def. Nate Diaz by split decision


» 170: Jon Fitch def. Akihiro Gono by unanimous decision


» 155: Thiago Tavares def. Manvel Gamburyan by unanimous decision


» 170: John Howard def. Chris Wilson by split decision


» 205: Jake O'Brien def. Christian Wellisch by split decision


» 170: Dan Cramer def. Matt Arroyo by split decision



Machida won the battle of Brazil against countryman Thiago Silva by TKO with 1 second left in the first round to remain undefeated in his career.

The co-main event of UFC 94 at the MGM Grand Garden Arena was the first bout of the night not to go to the scorecards.

Machida put Silva out with a series of strikes as the bell sounded to end the round. Referee Yves Lavigne looked like he might let the fight continue had Silva (13-1) been able to get up, but he was clearly done for the night.

“;Thiago was a tough guy, but today I was better than him,”; Machida said.

Machida improved to 14-0 with his sixth straight win in the UFC, His resume of victories, which includes Tito Ortiz, leaves no doubt he deserves a shot at the 205-pound title, held by Evans.

“;Whoever,”; Machida said. “;I'm ready.”;

Despite that, UFC President Dana White said Machida is not currently in line for the next title shot. It looks like the plan is to give Quinton “;Rampage”; Jackson the next shot if he gets past Keith Jardine. White won't announce who will fight Evans next until after that fight.


Bonner upset by Jones

Jon Jones tried his best to end the decision streak, but not even a vicious spinning back fist and a crushing knee to the chin of Stephan Bonner could do the trick.

It was enough to score points with the judges, and Jones pulled off the upset by unanimous decision, the eighth straight fight to go to the scorecards.

Jones (8-0) landed a spinning back fist in the first round that dropped Bonner (14-5), who was coming off a 15-month layoff due to a knee injury.

Bonner never recovered, and except for some strikes late, didn't have much in the tank.

Jones joins current light heavyweight champion Rashad Evans and former champion Forrest Griffin as the only men to beat Bonnar in the UFC.


Parisyan wins split decision

Karo Parisyan made it seven in a row to go to the scorecards, earning a split-decision win over Dong Hyun Kim, handing the Korean his first loss.

Parisyan (27-5) didn't show the skill set that had him near the top of the welterweight division two years ago. Nevertheless, it was a tough victory over Kim (11-1-1), who had the best round of the fight in the first, taking down Parisyan at will.


Guida opens PPV with win

Clay Guida lived up to his prefight promise that winning was more important than putting on a show.

Instead of scoring style points, Guida got the win instead with a split-decision victory over Nate Diaz in a lightweight fight.

Guida (25-6) rode out the decision by controlling Diaz (10-3) on the ground. Diaz was clearly the better striker, but Guida did enough in controlling Diaz.

“;It wasn't pretty,”; Guida said. “;It's a win.”;


D-day on the undercard

All five preliminary bouts on the undercard went to the scorecards, leaving just 5 minutes between the end of the last fight and the start of the pay-per-view broadcast.

Akihiro Gono's entrance might have been the highlight. Dressed in drag alongside two cornermen, Gono danced his way to the ring, and then got dominated for 15 minutes as Jon Fitch pulled out the easy unanimous decision victory.

Thiago Tavares beat Manny Gamburyan by unanimous decision while John Howard, Jake O'Brien and Dan Cramer all earned split-decision victories.