Hawaii Beat

By Star-Bulletin Staff

Tuesday, December 22, 1998

Special to the Star-Bulletin
Kelly Slater rips a wave during a recent surf meet.

Slater, Beachley top
ASP award winners

Kelly Slater, the Florida flash who has won five consecutive Association of Surfing Professionals world tour championships, and women's world champ Layne Beachley of Australia were the centers of attention at the ASP's season-ending awards banquet Sunday at the Hilton Hawaiian Village.

Slater and Beachley were presented the Vans G-Shock Triple Crown awards.

Other surfers honored included world junior champion Andy Irons of Hawaii; world longboard champion Joel Tudor of California; world masters champion Joey Buran of California; men's world qualifying series champion Fabio Gouveia of Brazil and women's world qualifyting series champ Serena Brooke of Australia.

Special awards went to men's rookie of the year Taj Burrow of Australia; women's rookie of the year Yvonne Rogencamp of Australia women's most improved Serena Brooke of Australia; men's best WCT newcomer Christiano Spirro of Brazil; women's best WCT newcomer Tita Tavares of Brazil.

Damien Hardman of Australia was cited for service to the sport. Also honored was ASP executive director Graham Stapelberg, whose 12-year tenure with the association officially ends on Dec. 31.

See line scores and results in
the [Scoreboard] section.

E-mail to Sports Editor

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]
[Stylebook] [Feedback]

© 1998 Honolulu Star-Bulletin