Hawaii Beat

By Star-Bulletin Staff

Monday, October 26, 1998

Gaspar co-champ
in small-college
tennis nationals

Brigham Young Hawaii's Petra Gaspar and Oklahoma City's Marisue Jacutin won their semifinal matches and were declared women's singles co-champions in the Rolex "Super Bowl" of Small College Tennis Saturday at Memphis, Tenn.

The finals were to have been played yesterday but BYUH has a school policy that doesn't permit Sunday competition. Thus, an agreement was made to name the two finalists co-champions.

The "Super Bowl" finals capped off the Rolex Small College Championships, presented by the USTA featuring men's and women's singles and doubles among players from NCAA Division II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community College schools.

The champions advance to the Rolex National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships Feb. 4-7 at Dallas.

HPU WOMEN EXTEND WIN STRING: The Hawaii Pacific women's volleyball team defeated Hawaii-Hilo, 15-8, 15-9, 15-3, yesterday at Hilo for its 16th consecutive victory and a two-match PacWest Conference sweep over the Vulcans.

Hai Yan Wang had 15 kills and Deborah Sant'Anna 13 for the Sea Warriors, 22-1 overall and 14-1 in conference play.

Ginelle Palau led UH-Hilo (10-14, 5-7) with 12 kills.

VULCANS' HARRIERS PREVAIL: The Hawaii-Hilo Vulcans topped the men's 10-kilometer and women's 6-kilometer fields in Saturday's Hawaii Pacific Invitational cross-country meet at HPU's Windward Campus in Kaneohe.

The individual champions were Christian Friis of Hawaii Pacific, with a time of 33 minutes, 4 seconds in the men's race, and Elinor Klang, also of HPU, with a 23:03 clocking in the women's run.

The UH-Hilo men placed secaond (Jesus Villavicencio, 33:39), third (Eleazar Hernandez, 34:18), fourth (Sabino Beltran, 34:43) and fifth (Danny Oliva, 35:53) to capture their fifth consecutive meet title. Hawaii Pacific was second despite placing five harriers in the top 10. Chaminade was third and Brigham Young-Hawaii fourth.

The Vulcans won their fourth straight women's event by placing fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth and 10th in the field. Hawaii Pacific was second, with Klang and teammate Alethea Rebman finishing 1-2. Chaminade was third.

The four Hawaii schools next compete in the PacWest Conference/Pacific Region championships Nov. 7 at Bellingham, Wash.

VARELA, GRAYBILL GO DISTANCE: Gustavo Varela and Rachel Graybill won the men's and women's Open Division titles yesterday in the Mid Pacific Road Runners Club 30-kilometer race at Kapiolani Park.

Varela was timed in 1 hour, 48 minutes, 13 seconds, beating out Angus Williams (1:53:30) and Jeff Sargent (1:55:09) for men's honors.

Graybill (2:09:19) outdistanced Ann Baginski (2:09:55) and Connie Comiso-Fanelli (2:15:41) for the women's prize.

The Regulators took first place among five-person men's teams in the 30-mile Relay, finishing in 3:17:13.

Faerber's Flyers Grey took women's honors in 3:47:40.

Two men, Bill Byrns and Craig Wagnild, ran the entire 30 miles as individuals, finishing in 4:13:28 and 4:29:42, respectively.

See line scores and results in
the [Scoreboard] section.

E-mail to Sports Editor

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]
[Stylebook] [Feedback]

© 1998 Honolulu Star-Bulletin