Wednesday, August 19, 1998

Prominent estate
critic endorses Lingle

Law professor Randy Roth will
end his radio show to speak
for her campaign

By Mike Yuen


Randy Roth, one of the five authors of the scathing "Broken Trust" critique that sparked the state's investigation into the Bishop Estate, today endorsed Republican gubernatorial candidate Linda Lingle.

Campaign '98 He will make speeches on behalf of Lingle, Maui's mayor, and "do whatever she wants," Roth said.

Roth is a University of Hawaii law professor credited with playing a pivotal role in the push for the critical examination of the estate, one of the nation's largest charitable trusts, which has had strong ties to the state's dominant Democratic Party.

"I believe that absolute power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely. I also believe this simplistic statement says a lot about the political culture that has evolved in Hawaii," he said. "Far too often, we see cronyism and intimidation in lieu of competence and leadership.... That's got to change."

Lingle said she has admired Roth, 50, because via his books and "Price of Paradise" radio show, he "has raised questions and sought answers to many of the issues that have brought our state to where it is today."

In a letter dated Monday, attorney Guy Sibilla asked the board of directors of the Hawaii State Bar Association to order Roth, who will be association president next year, to refrain from backing Lingle. He argued such an endorsement would divide the bar.

Roth speculated that if he had endorsed Democrat Ben Cayetano, Sibilla wouldn't have objected. Roth said he is endorsing Lingle as an individual and is discontinuing his radio show and related activities.

State teachers endorse
mostly incumbents

By Michelle Cournoyer


The Hawaii State Teachers Association has lined up behind many incumbents seeking re-election but has deferred its choice for governor.

"We have quite a lengthy process for recommending a candidate for governor," said Karen Ginoza, HSTA president. "We are talking with our teachers about the (gubernatorial) candidates and will make a decision at a later time."

The favored candidates, mostly incumbents, gained recommendations from the union's 12,000 public school teachers.

The union put each candidate through a screening process to endorse 56 nominees.

HSTA created candidate profiles from interviews and questionnaires. It reviewed incumbents' voting records on school funding.

Union members favored candidates who oppose privatization. Teachers affirmed school nutrition and health services atop their list of priorities. They also emphasized the importance of school employee involvement on changes within schools.

HSTA recommends the following:

Bullet U.S. Senate and House: Sen. Daniel Inouye, Senate; Rep. Neil Abercrombie, 1st Congressional District; Rep. Patsy Mink, 2nd Congressional District.

Bullet State Senate: Sen. Malama Solomon, 1st District, North Hilo, Kohala; Sen. Wayne Metcalf, 2nd District, South Hilo, Puna; Sen. Rosalyn Baker, 4th District, North/West Maui Molokai, Lanai; Sen. Avery Chumbley, 6th District, East Maui, North Kauai; Sen. Les Ihara, 10th District, Kapahulu, Kaimuki, Waikiki; Sen. Rod Tam, 13th District, Downtown, Nuuanu; Sen. David Ige, 17th District, Pearlridge, Pacific Palisades; Sen. Randall Iwase, 18th District, Mililani, Waipio Gentry; Sen. Calvin Kawamoto, 19th District, Waipahu, Pearl City; Colleen Hanabusa, 21st District, Waianae, Maili, Makaha; Sen. Robert Bunda, 22nd District, Wahiawa, North Shore; and Bob Nakata, 23rd District, Kaneohe, Kahuku, Heeia.

Bullet State House: Rep. Dwight Takamine, 1st District, North Hamakua, North Hilo, North Kohala; Rep. Jerry Chang, 2nd, South Hilo; Rep. Eric Hamakawa, 3rd, South Hilo, Puna; Rep. Robert Herkes, 4th, Kau, Puna; Virginia Isbell, 5th, North and South Kona; Rep. David Tarnas, 6th, South Kohala, North Kona; Rep. Joe Souki, 8th, Maalaea-Wailuku; Rep. Bob Nakasone, 9th, Wailuku, Kahului, Waikapu; Rep. David Morihara, 10th, Puunene-Kula; Rep. Chris Halford, 11th, Makena-Kihei.

Also, Rep. Hermina Morita, 12th District, Haiku-Kapaa; Rep. Ezra Kanoho, 13th, Lihue, Kapaa; Rep. Bertha Kawakami, 14th, Koloa, Waimea, Niihau; Rep. Barbara Marumoto-Coons, 17th, Waialae Iki-Kahala; Rep. Calvin Say, 18th, Palolo-Kaimuki; Rep. Brian Yamane, 19th, Diamond Head, Kapahulu, Waikiki; Rep. Scott Saiki, 20th, McCully, Moiliili, Pawaa; Rep. Terry Yoshinaga, 22nd, McCully, Moiliili, Pawaa; Rep. Ed Case, 23rd, Manoa; Brian Schatz, 24th, Makiki, Tantalus, Manoa.

Also, Rep. Ken Hiraki, 25th, Kakaako, Downtown, Ala Moana; Terrence Lee, 26th, Nuuanu-Punchbowl; Rep. Leina'ala Ahu Isa, 27th, Alewa Heights-Puunui; Rep. Dennis Arakaki, 28th, Kamehameha Heights, Kalihi Valley; Felipe Abinsay, 29th, Moanalua-Kapalama; Rep. Romeo Cachola, 30th Kalihi Kai, Palama; Rep. Nathan Suzuki, 31st, Aliamanu-Salt Lake; Wilfred Tangonan, 32nd, Foster Village-Aiea; Rep. Tom Okamura, 33rd, Halawa Heights-Aiea; Rep. K. Mark Takai, 34th, Waimalu, Waiau, Royal Summit, Newtown; Rep. Noboru Yonamine, 35th, Pacific Palisades, Pearl City Highlands; Rep. Roy Takumi, 36th, Pearl City, Waipahu.

Also, Rep. Nestor Garcia, 37th District, Waipahu, Crestview; Rep. Marilyn Lee, 38th, Mililani, Waipio; Rep. Ronnie Menor, 39th, Wheeler Air Force Base, Mililani; Rep. Marcus Oshiro, 40th, Wahiawa, Whitmore Village; Rep. Paul Oshiro, 41st, Ewa Beach, Waipahu; Clarence DeLude, 44th, Makaha, Waianae; Rep. Ken Ito, 48th, Kaneohe; Rep. Cynthia Thielen, 49th, Kailua, Kaneohe Bay Drive; and Rep. Kenneth Goodenow, 51st, Waimanalo-Enchanted Lake.

Bullet Board of Education: Mike Victorino, 2nd, Maui; board member Winston Sakurai, 6th, Windward; board member John Michael Compton, at large, Oahu; Shannon Ajifu, at large, Oahu.

E-mail to City Desk

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]
[Stylebook] [Feedback]

© 1998 Honolulu Star-Bulletin