H A W A I I _ S P O R T S

Decking the Hall
with 35 inductees

Hawaii Sports Hall of Fame
names its initial members

By Bill Kwon

Duke Kahanamoku, Tommy Kaulukukui, Herman Wedemeyer, Wally Yonamine and Tommy Kono are among the initial 35 individuals named to the Hawaii Sports Hall of Fame and Cybermuseum, it was announced today.

They were selected by the media from a nomination list of general athletes, Olympic medalists, sports contributors and pioneers up to the year 1959. The list was submitted by the Hawaii Sports Hall of Fame Commission, set up by Gov. Ben Cayetano.

Larry Price quote

Plans call for additional inductees to be named yearly, according to Larry Price, the commission's chairman.

"Our purpose is to record for all- time, with pictures, videos and in cyberspace as an educational repository the outstanding accomplishments of Hawaii's world-class athletes and sports pioneers," Price said.

A banquet honoring the inductees is scheduled Feb. 3 at the Hilton Hawaiian Village.

The inductees:

1890-1929: Alexander Cartwright, Clarence W. MacFarlane, Ikua Purdy, Duke Kahanamoku, J. Ashman Beaven, Steere Noda, Pua Kealoha, Warren Kealoha, George "Dad" Center, Mariechen Wehselau Jackson, Ellen Fullard-Leo, Otto "Proc" Klum.

1930-1949: Clarence "Buster" Crabbe, Francis Hyde I'i Brown, Tommy Kaulukukui, Keo Nakama, Herman Wedemeyer, "Sad" Sam Ichinose, Henry "Bozo" Wakabayashi, Dado Marino, Mackay Yanagisawa, Thelma Kalama Aiu, Bill Smith, Alan Stack.

1950-1959: Wally Yonamine, Charles Ane, Herman Clark, Ford Konno, Tommy Kono, A.E. "Toots" Minvielle, Yoshinobu Oyakawa, Soichi Sakamoto, Bill Woolsey, Carl "Bobo" Olson, Jackie Liwai Pung.

Their accomplishments can be found on the Internet at http://www.alohafame.com.

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Info] [Letter to Editor] [Stylebook] [Feedback]

© 1997 Honolulu Star-Bulletin