By Associated Press

Wednesday, January 22, 1997

Akebono, Musashimaru
drop to second

TOKYO - Wakanohana moved into the sole lead with an 11-0 record as Akebono and Musashimaru, both from Hawaii, suffered their first upsets today, the 11th day of the 15-day New Year Grand Sumo tournament.

Wrestling at the Ryogoku Kokugikan Sumo Arena in downtown Tokyo, No. 1 maegashira (senior wrestler) Tosanoumi tried to pull Akebono, or Chad Rowan, in the initial charge and quickly downed him with an arm throw for his sixth victory against five defeats. Akebono is 10-1.

Ozeki Takanonami fought off Musashimaru's fierce hand thrusts and driving attempts by turning around the ring's edge and threw him out for his fifth victory against six defeats.

Musashimaru, or Fiamalu Penitani, who won the last tournament two months ago, is now 10-1.

No. 13 maegashira Konishiki, or Salevaa Atisanoe from Hawaii, attacked No. 16 maegashira Kotobeppu with hand jabs and thrust him down for his seventh victory against four defeats. Kotobeppu is 5-6.

No. 14 maegashira Yamato, or George Kalima from Hawaii, was slapped down by No. 11 maegashira Kotoryu for his seventh defeat against four victories. Kotoryu is 6-5.

Other sumotori from Hawaii that won were No. 10-ranked Sunahama (5-6), or William Hopkins and No. 43-ranked Daiki (6-0), or Percy Kipapa.

See line scores and results in
the [Scoreboard] section.

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Community]
[Info] [Letter to Editor] [Stylebook] [Feedback]

© 1997 Honolulu Star-Bulletin