The late Mary Kawena Pukui, shown here sharing knowledge with young visitors to the Bishop Museum, was given the first Hawaii Book Publishers Association posthumous John Dominis Holt Award for Book Publishing Person of the Year in recognition of her contributions to Hawaiian literature.
Bishop Museum photo

HPA award
nominees announced

Star-Bulletin staff

General category finalists in its 1996 Ka Palapala Po'okela book awards have been announced by the Hawaii Book Publishers Association, a division of the Hawaii Publishers Association.

An independent panel of judges chose the finalists. Winners will be determined this summer by equally weighted votes cast by HPA professionals and members of the public. Public ballots will be available in the state libraries. and results of the voting will be announced in the fall.

The judges also selected winners for the technical category awards.

The judges this year were: Dan Boylan, teacher and commentator; Bob Dye, analyst and writer; John Heckathorn, of Honolulu Magazine; Cynthia Latish, of Borders Books & Music; Joyce Miyamoto, of the Hawaii State Library; Ramsay, artist and preservationist; John Simonds, of the Hawaii Newspaper Agency; and Chieko Tachihata of the University of Hawaii Hamilton Library.

Earlier this year, HBPA presented its first posthumous John Dominis Holt Award for Book Publishing Person of the Year to Mary Kawena Pukui for her contributions to Hawaiian literature.

Just one finalist was named in the nonfiction books general category, which wins by default.

The technical category and nonfiction books winners are:

The finalists in the general categories are:

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Community] [Info] [Stylebook] [Feedback]