Ryan Canon, Endia Abrante, Desiree Holstein, Bruce Taylor

Four schools
share top OIA track honors

By Star-Bulletin Staff

Athletes from Kailua, Kaiser, Moanalua and Radford topped the coaches' voting for the 1996 Oahu interscholastic Association all-star track and field teams.

In the Eastern Division, Surfriders senior Ryan Canon, who was the White Conference football rushing champion, was named the Outstanding Male Athlete. Canon won the 100- and 200-meter division championships.

Kaiser's bright new arrival, sophomore Endia Abrante, was named Outstanding Female Athlete in the East. Abrante captured the 100, 200 and 400 division titles and went on to take the state meet 200 and 400 championships.

In the Western Division, Moanalua's Desiree Holstein earned the Outstanding Female Athlete honor by winning the 100-meter high hurdles, the long jump and the triple jump division titles. Holstein also was a first-team soccer all-star in the OIA West earlier this year.

Radford's Bruce Taylor was the division's Outstanding Male Athlete. He captured the high and triple jumps in the West and went on to win the state high jump title.

OIA Track and Field All-Stars

Eastern Division Boys

Outstanding Athlete: Ryan Canon, Kailua

Outstanding Coach: Jeff Azuma, Roosevelt

First Team-100 meters: Ryan Canon, Kailua. 110-meter high hurdles: Kupaa Oleole, Kahuku. 1,600 meters: John Witham, Roosevelt. 200 meters: Ryan Canon, Kailua. 300-meter intermediate hurdles: Kaina Ellis, Kailua. 3,200 meters: John Witham, Roosevelt. 400 meters: David Colmenares, McKinley. 800 meters: Bill McClellan, Kahuku. Discus: Boniface Konohia, Kailua. Shot put: Faatau Muagututia, McKinley. Pole vault: Ryan Takeshita, Kaimuki. High jump: Rob Griffin, Kaiser. Long jump: Bryan Clay, Castle. Triple jump: Travis Sueno, Roosevelt.

Second Team-100 meters: Kerby Centeio, Kalani. 110-meter high hurdles: Henry Sypongco, Farrington. 1,600 meters: Andrew Kawakami, Roosevelt. 200 meters: Kerby Centeio, Kalani. 300-meter intermediate hurdles: Mike Koizumi, McKinley. 3,200 meters: Kanaina Warren, Roosevelt. 400 meters: Mark Bautista, McKinley. 800 meters: John Witham, Roosevelt. Discus: Arasi Mose, McKinley. Shot put: John Mannering, Roosevelt. High jump: Garet Dugay, Castle. Long jump: Travis Sueno, Roosevelt. Triple jump: Joshua Dement, Kalani.

Eastern Division Girls

Outstanding athlete: Endia Abrante, Kaiser.

Outstanding coach: Walter Santiago, Kahuku.

First Team-100 meters: Endia Abrante, Kaiser. 100-meter high hurdles: Holly Itoga, Kaiser. 1,600 meters: Pacita Stark, Roosevelt. 200 meters: Endia Abrante, Kaiser. 300-meter intermediate hurdles: Sarah Budroe, Kahuku. 3,200 meters: Jennifer Lee, Roosevelt. 400 meters: Endia Abrante, Kaiser. 800 meters: Bonnie Patterson, Kalani. Discus: Valasi Sepulona, Farrington. Shot put: Valasi Sepulona, Farrington. High jump: Amber Kuhlmann, Kalaheo. Long jump: Vicky Peters, Kahuku. Triple jump: Vicky Peters, Kahuku.

Second Team-100 meters: Sarah Budroe, Kaiser. 100-meter high hurdles: Marlene Duenas, Farrington. 1,600 meters: Jennifer Lee, Roosevelt. 200 meters: Sarah Budroe, Kahuku. 300-meter intermediate hurdles: Leihua Peters, Kahuku. 3,200 meters: Pacita Stark, Roosevelt. 400 meters: Leila Wai, Kaiser. 800 meters: Jade Robles, Kalani. Discus: Wailani Kaahu, Kahuku. Shot put: Wailani Kaahu. High jump: Donna Camacho, Roosevelt. Long jump: Amber Kuhlmann, Kalaheo. Triple jump: Ellen Kim, McKinley.

Western Division Boys

Outstanding Athlete: Bruce Taylor, Radford.

Outstanding Coach: Al Bader, Jr., Radford

First-Team-100 meters: Mark Zahaczewsky, Aiea. 110-meter high hurdles: Doug Alfar, Mililani. 1,600 meters: Jason Noriega, Mililani. 200 meters: Mark Zahaczewsky, Aiea. 300-meter intermediate hurdles: Justin Huff, Radford. 3,200 meters: Shawn Gallup, Mililani. 400 meters: Mondelle Waren, Radford. 800 meters: Robert Burkett, Nanakuli. Discus: Shawn Masaniai, Radford. Shot put: Shawn Masaniai, Radford. Pole Vault: Clint Nahina, Moanalua. High jump: Bruce Taylor, Radford. Long jump: Anthony Davis, Aiea. Triple jump: Bruce Taylor, Radford.

Second-Team-100 meters: Mondelle Waren, Radford. 110-meter high hurdles: Justin Huff, Radford. 1,600 meters: Shawn Gallup, Mililani. 200 meters: Bruce Taylor, Radford. 300-meter intermediate hurdles: Doug Alfar, Mililani. 3,200 meters: Michael Donaldson, Pearl City. 400 meters: Patrice Lamarque, Moanalua. 800 meters: Rufus Twito, Aiea. Discus: Rudy Faifili, Leilehua. Shot put: Ben Taualo, Waianae. Pole Vault: Ross Malloy, Moanalua. High jump: Rashard David, Campbell. Long jump: Roderick Smith, Radford. Triple jump: Doug Alfar, Mililani.

Western Division Girls

Outstanding Athlete: Desiree Holstein, Moanalua

Outstanding coach: Shane Akamine, Mililani

First-Team-100 meters: Kennisha Moten, Leilehua. 100-meter high hurdles: Desiree Holstein, Moanalua. 1,600 meters: Jodi Enomoto, Mililani. 200 meters: Kennisha Moten, Leilehua. 300-meter low hurdles: Christine Danjou, Waipahu. 3,200 meters: Jackie Pang, Mililani. 400 meters: Kennisha Moten, Leilehua. 800 meters: Jodi Enomoto, Mililani. Discus: Christy Taualo, Waianae. Shot put: Christy Taualo, Waianae. High jump: Jennifer Kimura, Pearl City. Long jump: Desiree Holstein, Moanalua. Triple jump: Desiree Holstein, Moanalua.

Second-Team-100 meters: Hailemaile Apana, Nanakuli. 100-meter high hurdles: Lea Arce, Pearl City. 1,600 meters: Monique Mata, Mililani. 200 meters: Courtney Nekota, Mililani. 300-meter low hurdles: Desiree Holstein, Moanalua. 3,200 meters: Jodi Enomoto, 400 meters: Courtney Nekota, Mililani. 800 meters: Monique Mata, Mililani. Discus: Desiree Espinda, Aiea. Shot put: Desiree Espinda, Aiea. High jump: Desiree Holstein, Moanalua. Long jump: Helene Miura, Waianae. Triple jump: Valerie Clemen, Mililani.

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Community] [Information] [Feedback]