Monday, September 19, 2005

The cast of "Lost" -- Matthew Fox, left, Harold Perrineau, Jorge Garcia, Daniel Dae Kim, Emilie de Ravin, Dominic Monaghan, Maggie Grace, Naveen Andrews, Josh Holloway, Evangeline Lily and Terry O'Quinn -- celebrated the show's Emmy win backstage last night.

‘Lost’ finds
Emmy gold

The show clinches 6 awards in
its first season, and is the first
made-in-Hawaii series to get
the nod for top drama

LOS ANGELES » ABC's made-in-Hawaii show "Lost" won the Emmy Award for best dramatic series last night, the first time a show filmed in the islands has ever taken television's top honor.

"Lost" won two Emmys in the televised ceremony -- for a total of six, when added to the awards won in the creative arts categories last week. The show had been nominated in 12 categories.

The last prime-time Emmy won by an island television show was a supporting-actor prize taken by Jonathan Hillerman for "Magnum, P.I." That was in 1986. "Lost" had two nominations for supporting actor this year -- for Naveen Andrews and Terry O'Quinn -- but the award went to William Shatner of "Boston Legal."

"Lost" creator J.J. Abrams, who also won an Emmy for directing its pilot, thanked Stephen McPherson, president of ABC Entertainment.

The total tally for the first-year series included four Emmys in the creative arts categories, for music composition, special visual effects, single-camera picture editing and casting.

The Academy of Television Arts and Sciences ceremony took place at the Shrine Auditorium before a nationwide audience on CBS. Host Ellen DeGeneres sported a magnolia, also worn by several in the audience as a sign of support for the victims of Hurricane Katrina.

Jean Higgens, one of the producers of "Lost," cheered and flashed a two-fisted shaka when the show's win was announced. Next to her is Daniel Dae Kim, who stars as Jin in the ABC drama.

In the comedy series category, everybody loved "Raymond" one more time, honoring the show as best series for its final season and denying newcomer "Desperate Housewives."

"All year long they've been asking us, 'Do you think, now that your show is going, is this the end of the sitcom?' " said "Raymond" executive producer Phil Rosenthal. "I want to say, yes. Beyond that, it's the end of laughing and the end of smiling."

Felicity Huffman and Patricia Arquette became first-time Emmy winners as they received lead actress honors while Tony Shalhoub and James Spader once again proved favorites in the best actor category.

"I would like to thank the incomparable William H. Macy for taking a chunky 22-year-old with a bad perm and glasses out into a cow pasture and kissing me and making me his wife." -- Huffman said.

She also thanked "the women of Wisteria Lane," her co-stars Marcia Cross and Teri Hatcher -- also nominees in the category -- and Eva Longoria.

Arquette, who plays a crime-solving psychic in NBC's "Medium," won the best drama series actress award, while Shalhoub was named best actor in a comedy series for "Monk."

"I just want to say there's always next year, except for Ray Romano," Shalhoub said jokingly of his fellow nominees.

Spader was named best dramatic actor for "Boston Legal" for his portrayal of a lawyer with an ethics problem -- his second consecutive win. "I'd like to thank the academy and I'd like to thank my mother and I'd like to thank my mother again, because I forgot to thank her last year," he said.

Other past Emmy favorites grabbed trophies, with Brad Garrett and Doris Roberts of "Everybody Loves Raymond" and William Shatner of "Boston Legal" receiving supporting actor honors.

It was Roberts' fourth Emmy for the role, Garrett's third and Shatner's second -- for the character of egotistical lawyer Denny Crane.

"Oh, my gosh. ... Thank you so much," said Garrett, joking: "I have to dedicate this to Britney (Spears) and our baby. This is amazing."

Tributes to the victims of Hurricane Katrina were brief. Jon Stewart, a winner and a presenter, did a comedic bit that blasted the federal response to Katrina. But for the most part, the tragedy that had drawn Americans to their TV sets received scant attention as the ceremony's focus remained mainly on the awards.

The ceremony included a tribute to late-night king Johnny Carson, the "Tonight" show host who died this year, with David Letterman remembering the man who entertained America and was mentor to so many comedians.

"With all due respect to the laws of astrophysics, Johnny Carson's star never cooled," he declared. "In a culture that indiscriminately invokes the gold standard, Johnny Carson was platinum."

The ceremony also honored network TV's veteran news anchors, the retired Dan Rather of CBS and Tom Brokaw of NBC and the late Peter Jennings of ABC.

Brokaw and Jennings recieved the longest ovation off the night. Brokaw said the response "makes all the more poignant the absence of our colleague, Peter Jennings." Jennings, died last month of lung cancer.

Rather added, "He left us far too soon and with so much good work ahead of him."


Winners' list

These are the winners of the 57th annual Emmy Awards, awarded by the Television Academy of Arts and Sciences last night in Los Angeles:

Drama Series: "Lost," ABC
Comedy Series: "Everybody Loves Raymond," CBS
Miniseries: "The Lost Prince" (Masterpiece Theatre), PBS
Variety, Music or Comedy Series: "The Daily Show With Jon Stewart," Comedy Central
Made-for-TV Movie: "Warm Springs," HBO
Reality-Competition Program: "The Amazing Race," CBS
Actor, Drama Series: James Spader, "Boston Legal," ABC
Actor, Comedy Series: Tony Shalhoub, "Monk," USA
Actor, Miniseries or Movie: Geoffrey Rush, "The Life and Death of Peter Sellers," HBO
Actress, Drama Series: Patricia Arquette, "Medium," NBC
Actress, Comedy Series: Felicity Huffman, "Desperate Housewives," ABC
Actress, Miniseries or Movie: S. Epatha Merkerson, "Lackawanna Blues," HBO
Supporting Actor, Drama Series: William Shatner, "Boston Legal," ABC
Supporting Actor, Comedy Series: Brad Garrett, "Everybody Loves Raymond," CBS
Supporting Actor, Miniseries or Movie: Paul Newman, "Empire Falls," HBO
Supporting Actress, Drama Series: Blythe Danner, "Huff," Showtime
Supporting Actress, Comedy Series: Doris Roberts, "Everybody Loves Raymond," CBS
Supporting Actress, Miniseries or Movie: Jane Alexander, "Warm Springs," HBO
Individual Performance in a Variety or Music Program: Hugh Jackman, "The 58th Annual Tony Awards (2004)," CBS
Directing for a Drama Series: "Lost: Pilot (Part 1 & Part 2)," ABC
Directing for a Comedy Series: "Desperate Housewives: Pilot," ABC
Directing for a Miniseries, Movie or Dramatic Special: "The Life and Death of Peter Sellers," HBO
Directing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Program: "The Games of the XXVIII Olympiad -- Opening Ceremony," NBC
Writing for a Drama Series: "House: Three Stories," Fox
Writing for a Comedy Series: "Arrested Development: The Righteous Brothers," Fox
Writing for a Miniseries, Movie or Dramatic Special: "The Life and Death of Peter Sellers," HBO
Writing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Program: "The Daily Show with Jon Stewart," Comedy Central

Associated Press

E-mail to Features Desk


© Honolulu Star-Bulletin -- http://archives.starbulletin.com